Love It/Shove It Challenge

in #loveitshoveit6 years ago

7A1B9D13-5640-444E-8830-7D950FD40018.jpeg

This is my entry for the Love It/Shove It challenge by @snowpea! I was nominated by @alimamasstory and @apanamamama!

Here are the rules:

List five things that you love
List five things that you really dislike
Use the tag #loveitshoveit
Tag five people or more to participate, but anyone can join in.

The things I list here are in no particular order and they are just a few of the things I love and dislike. I decided to share these 10 things with my Steemit family! Here we go!!!...

LOVE IT ❤️

3FD6CEC8-5EF7-473B-B3A1-FC1DC9846791.jpeg

Crochet

For those of you that have been following my blog know by now that I LOVE me some crochet! Crocheting has brought a lot of Joy and Relaxation to my life and I cannot imagine not having this outlet. It is Fun and Saves my family a lot of money every year because I can make quite a few of our necessities! You can see more of my work on Monday’s when myself and other needleworkers gather together to share our creations and ideas for NeedleWorkMonday!

C18A95EE-7445-4592-A04E-3E0C87BAACA4.jpeg

Essential Oils

These are my go to goodies, my family’s main medicine! I honestly never want to live without essential oils. The therapeutic benefits are outstanding and they are good for our bodies...much safer than over the counter meds. These oils have helped me through pregnancy, stress, sickness, low energy, anxiety, skin issues and to keep our home smelling amazingly fresh!

809044A9-F05F-4287-B51D-C3CBB5C2B913.jpeg

Massages

Oh let me tell ya, massages are one of my favorite things to receive from my husband. I grew up loving massages. My mother and I used to massage each other when our bodies ached. When I was young I remember thinking to myself that whom ever I marry, must love giving massages lol! When my husband offers to massage me I get sooooooo excited. We have massage oils that we like to use. The oils really help you to get deeper into the muscles and to avoid pinching the skin. Depending on how long he massages me I fall asleep about 90% of the time. I wake up feeling like I just got a new body with less aches and pains.

739EFF71-D542-447F-8768-62BF8B91E5DA.jpeg

Sweets & Treats

Sweets and Treats my yummy eats!!!! I think I have a problem when it comes to sweets...I eat them too much. My favorites are cookies but I love them all; cakes, pies, donuts, shakes, candy, fudge, sweet biscuits etc. It seems I get a sweet tooth at the worst times...when there is NONE available! 😳 When I’m pregnant I ask my husband to make quick store runs to satisfy my cravings. I really try to cut back but it’s so hard. I think sweets will be the death of me. 🤷🏽‍♀️

FEB42494-1C26-4456-9BEB-0D5F1646F5F5.jpeg

The Smell of Concrete When the Rain Hits

I know this is a weird one but for as long as I can remember I have always loved the smell of rain and concrete. When I was younger I used to go outside right when the rain started just to smell the concrete. I can’t describe how refreshing that smell is to me. I guess I can put it like this, it’s a fresh smell of nature! I’m going to share an embarrassing secret with you all. I liked the smell so much that when I was younger I used to eat the little rocks that lay on the concrete at the end of our driveway. I have also licked the wet concrete (our driveway). I know you’re thinking ugh, ewwwww and that’s gross right now but I didn’t have a problem with it back then. I only did those things a few times but you sure won’t catch me doing that now. I’ll just enjoy the smell instead of trying to taste it nowadays! 😄

92E4972B-5AFD-4E3A-8B51-91B71E9C5DC9.png

Shove It ❌

328DCB34-2589-4B8F-BE42-A2AD6BABE7AE.jpeg

Bees

Yes I am aware that we need bees and why but that still doesn’t mean I have to like them. They are the reason I hate dandelions and have fear of going outside near flowers in the Summer. It all started when I was about 10 years old. I was sharing a soda with my siblings outside while on vacation. When it got around to me again, a bee came up from inside the soda can and stung me on my lips. I’m so glad I didn’t actually swallow the bee but I sure had a huge painful swollen lip for days. 😒 My siblings laughed at me everyday and were glad they weren’t the ones that had gotten stung.

While in junior high school another incident happened that scarred me for life. I wanted a friend to come outside and play with me. So I went up to his porch and rang the doorbell. Little did I know he had a wasp colony right underneath his house...by the doorbell. All of a sudden a swarm of wasps flew out and attacked me. I ran off the porch, jumped on my bike and cried all the way home to my mom. I was stung at least 4 times in my back. Nowadays every time I hear buzzing I get nervous, these experiences have really affected me. Shove anything with a stinger.

8BE20639-8A34-4832-8F36-70489A1F3002.jpeg

Black Licorice

Just the smell alone of this stuff makes me nauseous. I can’t stand being near it, I don’t like to touch it and I definitely can’t stand the way it tastes. I’ve tasted it once in my life and that’s all I needed to know I hated it. The crazy part is my entire family Loves black licorice. Even my soon to be 2 year old loves it! My family knows not to come near me when they’re eating this horrible stuff. They also know they have to brush their teeth immediately after before they speak to me or I’ll faint lol!

2FA77375-8E12-46FD-901A-EF71073927D8.jpeg

Freezing Weather

I have never liked cold weather. Being petite all my life I didn’t have much meat on me to keep me warm. So when the freezing weather hits I try to avoid being outside. Even when I bundle up I still shiver and shake and feel like I’m going to die. Sometimes I get so cold I can’t move. It feels like I have icicles all over my body and at any given moment I will freeze into place. I definitely prefer the warm over the cold.

F42EBBA1-BD80-4693-8D5B-BC5EF334956B.jpeg

Spiders

Eewwww!!! I still can’t believe I took this picture. Spiders creep me out, period! There’s nothing cute about them just all creepiness. If we find one in the house I’ll spray it down with my mixture of essential oils first before getting near it. I want to make sure it won’t jump on me so I wet it down with the spray really good and then get a shoe or something to smash it with. I don’t kill spiders if they’re outside (unless it’s a huge dangerous looking one that I don’t want in the house with my kids). We teach our kids not to kill creatures if they’re outside...but once these creepy crawlies get into our home it’s a different story.

CE16AC3E-466D-4B6A-B9A8-C073B5585312.jpeg

Packing

I admit it’s fun moving to a new place sometimes. All of the excitement of a new home and new surroundings can get you really motivated. But it still doesn’t get me motivated enough to want to pack. I cannot stand packing!! I see why people have packing parties because it is a lot of work and very draining and time consuming. You do get to find things you haven’t seen in years and you get to see spaces cleaned and cleared out that hasn’t been in years but it’s still no fun. I think we should hire some professional packers the next time we move! 👍🏽

84D9749F-9BB8-4315-AD67-7ABFD1C6DB7A.png

I would like to nominate these people to join this challenge if they haven’t done so already: @anise, @fathin-shihab, @mrscwin, @wondermaey and @violetmed!

Photo Sources: All photos that include my signature are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6. The photos that do not include my signature are from the Pixabay website.

This concludes my Love It/Shove It entry. I hope you enjoyed learning a little more about me :) Thanks for reading!

E7CCD4FA-DBAF-4BC6-8A55-7F5DDE193241.png

47047FF2-3302-4F23-8881-6B43030C6206.png

8C44224F-182F-4AB4-9F26-887553CC8CF4.png

B8C0C5BF-6113-4071-9E04-ADC31CBD1F13.gif

6AAB19FC-80E8-40A2-BC5A-E90C5180FB23.png

B0FCC6C7-547F-4C99-860F-06B8B223EB79.png

85FE5981-B1A6-4B27-A98D-7678205FA040.png

SMbannersmall.png

70E6405C-95D2-47FC-91A2-F013AB9A16F1.png

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Hi @crosheille although i was pretty much aware of your love about needle work, but godd to see you love for other things. Surprise to see no Cockroaches in your shove it list..... still the spiders made it in there . :)......Good to know you...keep steeming.

Hi @steemflow it’s so good to hear from you! Lol cockroaches are definitely on my shove it list! Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting :D

Sweets & treats + Massages gets a big nod from me as well @crosheille! I've also been nominated by a friend that's why your post grabbed my attention, so glad I bumped into you, awesome post!

Ha!!! Thank you @lizelle! I guess you can’t go wrong with those things! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 😃 I’ll have to stop by your blog to see your post too!

Ok, first off, you are beautiful! What a great photo! I have always loved crochet, although I am not great at it. I've always thought I should have learned to knit and have tried several times, but it just doesn't feel natural to me the way crochet does!

Black licorice! I have to agree! Yuck! However, we have used Real Licorice Root as chewsticks ( good for your teeth and digestion) and those are a totally different deal. Naturally sweet and not nauseating like the artificial junk.

I'm looking forward to checking out your crochet posts!

Awwww thank you so very much for that sweet compliment!! ☺️😊

I would love to see some of your crochet. I feel the same way about knitting. I have been trying to learn it but I don’t think I will ever be as comfortable with it as I am with crocheting.

I have heard of those chew sticks! Not sure if I could handle those either but they do sound better than the artificial ones.

Thanks so much for stopping by. I would love it if you checked out some of my crochet pots :D

I've only done hats and a few hearts and pointsettia Christmas ornaments. I would love to broaden my horizons a bit, but right now Steemit is taking my spare time. Maybe when I get a little better rhythm with keeping up with my posts and commenting, then I'll find some spare time to crochet again. I do miss it-it's so relaxing for me!

The chew sticks are really quite different. Black licorice makes me gag, but I rather like the chew sticks!

I'll definitely be checking out some crochet posts soon!

I definitely understand! We moms have to really manage our time wisely. If you do ever get back to it I’ll be sure to check yours out too ;)

I’m going to see if my husband wants to try those chew sticks!

Thanks for nominating me dear! :-). I also don't like bees and cold weather. It's too cold for me and the bees, I scream a bit when they are near me. I also have a sweet tooth and when the kids choose candies or cookies to buy, I am the one that eats almost everything :-D. I will write a post about this topic next week .;-) Enjoy your weekend!

You are very welcome! 😊

Lol I scream quite loudly when they’re near me, sometimes I embarrass my family because I don’t care who’s watching lol! Haa I eat up all the snacks and sweets too, that’s so funny!!

I’m looking forward to reading your entry...Yay!!! 😉

I enjoyed reading your love it/shove it. The one of your love it, I love most is of the massages. That is just wonderful to have a hubby that does that for you regularly. Lots of benefits in that including a positive for your marriage! And on the shove-it side, I can associate with the cold, I live in a city for 43 years where every winter we experienced below zero temperatures and I just hate that. 5 Years ago we moved to the beach where I now can swim 365 days of the year! No more cold! Thanks for sharing, blessings!

Thank you so much for visiting! I’m so glad you enjoyed reading my list :)

Yes it is such a blessing that my husband and I can have that time together and take care of each other in that way.

Wow I can’t imagine how nice that is to be able to swim every day of the year if you wanted!!!

No 🐝 bees and no black licorice for me either. Ouch and yuck!

Haaa!!! Yay you understand me!! Lol 😅

a great list, Packing I have done far to many times and I can relate even if your excited about moving packing is such a pain

Thank you! Oh yes it’s a huge pain!

indeed it truly is

Ooooohh those heels!!! 😍😍😍 yes, I can't stand freezing weather, and yes, the taste of licorice too! It just tastes really weird to me. I always wonder why people like it lol

Haa thanks!! Those are my favorite ones that I own right now! 😁 Nice to see I’m not the only one that doesn’t understand why people like it...yuck! Lol

Lots of great ones there! I also hate packing. It's the worst...and even unpacking once you get past the stuff you need to get out. Spiders are no fun either and I also don't like black licorice. It's nasty. Crazy about the bee stinging your lip...and eating rocks! Lol. That's too funny. Made me laugh. I also love sweets. I'm eating my way through a frozen cookie dough tub, chocolate bark with almonds and Hershey kisses now. Just don't tell my husband. ;) And I don't share with the kids...

Lol yes the unpacking is just as worse!!! Ha I can’t believe I told my secret lol!!!! It was yummy at the time! 😂 Frozen cookie dough sounds so good...if I weren’t pregnant I would go grab a tub now! Lol I try to wait until the kids are in bed and “asleep” before I bring out the food stuff!

Ha ha! Good idea to wait until the kids are in bed!

Oh yeah!! I enjoy treats much better when they aren’t in my face begging for some lol!!!

Haha packing party?? I’ve never heard of that before! Why didn’t I think of that when we moved 6 months ago? 😂

Lol yes! I have been invited to a few. People literally will invite you over, provide dinner and drinks while you help them pack!! Haa!! Clever huh? They’ll have music playing and we dance while we pack, talk and laugh...it dresses up packing a little and makes it look not so bad. But I know the truth! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64