#LoveFriday Challenge — Simple GesturessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #lovefriday7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-09-15 at 1.19.22 PM.png


Last weekend we wandered along the shore of Lake Ontario at Spencer Smith Park. Our dog, Abbey came with us.

We greeted a family on the beach playing with their two dogs in the water. A couple of older people sat on a beached log.

We allowed Abbey to join the dogs in the water.

I'm more chatty than my husband and so, I talked to them about the dogs. After a few pleasantries we called Abbey to let them enjoy their family time alone.

I wished them a nice weekend and thanked them for allowing our dogs to play in the water together. The woman sitting on the log looked me in the eyes and said,

That's fine, dear, have a good weekend as well.

Something about her tone warmed my heart.

She wasn't poetic, and didn't say anything I haven't heard a thousand times before.

However, her intentions felt authentic, and settled into an empty spot in my heart.

Such a simple expression produced a lump in my throat and a rush of tears to my eyes.

I was grateful for my sunglasses.

I have this weird thing—I cry whenever people are nice to me.

I wonder if anyone else has this reaction.


1306328096images-GoldenApple_B2.jpg signature.png


photos - Stock Photos, Pinterest

Sort:  

It's nice and refreshing in these days of anti-congeniality when fellow humans are spontaneously courteous, just because it's the right way to be!!!

It's so true. You never know what a smile or hello will do for someone. We are meant to be social and probably due to technology we are becoming more and more one dimensional.

Spontaneity needs a resurrection. :)

I do when I am not feeling so great. It usually is a sign for me that I have to stop and do some self-care. Thank you for sharing your moment.

Yes, so true. I didn't know I had an empty spot. Still don't know why it affected me that way. I accepted it and was grateful.

I think that is what happens to us. We don't even know that that inner child, or the soul, or however you want to call it is in need of some TLC until something like that happens. Glad you got and received it!

I think, as well, that we've lost our need and maybe even ability to be social, in person. We've cocooned ourselves with technology and miss out on opportunities to receive and give care to one another.

That is true. But some people can drain energy instead of giving. I think life is so busy that sometimes we just forget to be good to ourselves. Keep on taking those walks and meeting nice people :)

Beautiful work dear friend @countrygirl, the secret of the happiness of life lies in the simple and everyday things
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful work.
I wish you a beautiful weekend

You too @jlufer. Thanks for commenting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55