Love Challenge Contest by @thelovejunkie

in #lovechallenge6 years ago (edited)

Valentine's Day wasn't something I loved to look forward to back then. No, it didn't bother that I wasn't getting flowers or candies or taken out for dates. I just saw it pointless to be sharing and showing love only on that day. Bugs me big time.

When John and I started dating, I learned he wasn't the kind who gives flowers on Valentine's. He had a girlfriend, the one and only he had given flowers to. Sadly, the day after his sweet gesture, she died of heart attack. It made him scared to give flowers ever since. That was totally fine with me. I'm not the kind who likes receiving them anyway.

image

John and I started out as friends. The kind you'd wake up at 3am just to burst out in laughter or tears. We had honest conversations about life and love. He's an extrovert, I'm the opposite. During the time we were still dating, up to the first few years of marriage, we never argued.

image
Valentine's 2009

People who knew us knew that too. And from their perspective, that was ideal. It was. I mean, who would want a relationship with arguments all the time? It was ideal, yes. But is also boring. It wouldn't help that you'd always agree with each other. Without arguments, where is the sense of compromise? How will you learn and grow from each other?

image
Valentine's 2016. No, I'm still alive. Curse was broken

That kind of made us grow apart. There wasn't much discussion about anything because we just agree with everything. We had long drives to wherever without us not saying anything. Dinners at home just focused on food. Bedtimes were just bedtimes.

image
Valentine's 2017

I have to admit, it was my fault too. I was passive and I'd just let everything go. Even when I already hate what's going on, I keep it to myself. When he asks if I'm ok, I'd say I am even when I'm not. And that's just sick. Because then, your mind wanders. And when it does, you'd have no idea what you'd be capable of doing.

We grew apart and reasons for arguments and fights started pouring in. We've had challenges I never thought we'd get through. Some just between us, others from the people surrounding us. It was ugly. It was my fault. If only, I spoke my mind everytime...

image

Marriage, or love for that matter isn't about having the ideal relationship. It's not about flowers every Valentine's, gifts every holidays, candies now and then. It's loving each other despite having nothing to offer. It's not about having someone to cuddle with every morning but having someone you wake up with even when there's little to no urge of waking up. Not about sweet kisses, but kissing even when you're at your ugliest, no-toothbrush-yet kind of kiss. Love isn't about perfection because no one is perfect. It's not about being correct. It's about accepting imperfection, loving them and making them the reason for your affection.

5, 10 years of being together will show you just how unlovable someone is. But deciding to be there for each other, no matter what - that is love. Growing through what you go through together - that is love.

So yes, I'm taking all these that will make my thighs look funny because I know me and John are together in this.

image
Valentine's 2018

Here's wishing everyone love not just for today but for everyday.

Thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah (and John)

Sort:  

Beautifully said and done. Love is great even in bad days. Love for you both and the children too.

It is. Beautiful memories are still there even when you hate each other to the guts. Even when the house is a mess, food burnt and hair all messed up.

Love to you and Abbi! 🤗🤗🤗

Great to have Love 😁 Love

Yummy then sweet:)

Just the kind of sweetness I like 😊

Awwww! One of the best Valentines post I read.

Thank you, dear. I'm trying to make up because I binge watched The Good Doctor the whole day yesterday and I didn't post anything for him.

Haha jk. Every word I said was true. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76