Teaching Children with Special Needs : My Aunt's Confession of Success and Struggles

in #love7 years ago (edited)

They say that teaching is probably one of the most underrated profession in the entire world. Coming from a family who were teachers enable me to fully understand, love and appreciate all the handwork, dedication and the countless effort they exert in their daily routine. It is also important that one needs to have an affinity and skills towards constant learning, speaking and patience.
My aunt has proven that being an educator is not an easy job specially when you're teaching Children with special needs! photo credits to google )
It was a gloomy Saturday, beautiful, pale, vapory blue sky was smiling at me. It was the perfect day to visit my aunt. I been away from my family for the last 4 months because I was studying in the city and rarely visits home. i took a deep breath as i appreciate the views and the fresh air that my hometown has offered while continue walking to to my Aunt's house. I instantly feel the excitement upon reaching the main door of her house. I knocked twice and shouted 'Auntie, Auntie this is Hamza. I'm here". No one responded to to my call so i took the initiative of of opening the door and look for her. I rolled my eyes as i try to look for the person i'm looking for. There she was, I i saw her resting in her old blue sof. She dazzled when she saw me and called me "Uy, Don How are?" I ran and hugged her tight. "how are you Antie?" She took a large pause before answering my Question. "I'm actually sick" I knew it but what's really bothering me is the black eye she had in her left eye. It was a big bruise and swelling. I asked her initially " Auntie, what's with your left eye?"
She took a long pause as she responded
"Oh this? I WAS PUNCHED BY ONE OF MY NEW STUDENTS!" She honestly told me. " I fainted and the school nurse helped me earlier." I sighed in disbelief. Its happening once again.
You might be wondering how in the world does a teacher gets punch by student?
This is her story.
My aunt, Eve who was in her late 40's now has been teaching for more than 25 years now. But the biggest challenge in her teaching career happened in early 2011 when she was given the opportunity to teach in Special education program of the Department of Education in teaching Children with special needs. My aunt has goner through vigorous and intensive trainings in handling these students. My aunt was assigned to teach Children with Down syndrome.
25398807_1639745349437820_7377309971010828258_n.jpg

25348575_1640657179346637_7514193865186521626_n.jpg
My aunt told me that it is very important to be sensitive as you handle them. Like instead of calling them "down syndrome child" it should be a "child with down syndrome" She added that Down syndrome is a condition or syndrome and not a disease like what most of us think. The word "retarded" is strongly condemned and replace with "Intellectual. disabilities" In addition, my aunt also taught children with condition of Autism Spectrum Disorder. These are group of neurological disorder that highly affect child's ability to interact, communicate , imagine and most especially to learn.
Throughout the seminars and training , My aunt had learned a lot. As the population of children with special needs continues to grow, The attention they need is also essential.First, introduce yourself and explain how you are connected to the child. Provide positive role models with disabilities is also necessary. Students with special needs need to learn about individuals with disabilities who have become successful in life. This way, they can hopefully come to the conclusion that "If they can do it, so can I!. Being observant as skill is also needed and always keep a lookout for these differences and think about what the child’s behavior is communicating to you. The knowledge of using visual, auditory or tactile cues will definitely help.

In the first year of my aunt teaching in Special class took its way on June 2011. There were only 6 students during her first year. But despite of the small number, my aunt was still adjusting to the biggest transition and challenge that was given to her. Parents were also there outside waiting for their child. The following year was much more denouncing as the number of students grew rapidly. From 6 grows to 14. Some of the parents also admitted before that they were embarrassed and often just locked their child in their house which is completely wrong.
iphone-010.jpg credits :Google

This is often the classroom and set-up for the class.
My aunt experienced many things teaching. Majority of them just play or misbehaved. They learn colors and letters but the next day they will forget everything specially when you put two colors together , they cannot recognize it. There are times my aunt was extremely exhausted but she never taught of giving up.
Most of the Students also often salivate in the class. Majority of them ages from 13-30. as the number of students grew , the class were dived from morning to afternoon. 10 students for morning and the rest will be on the 2nd session.
Year 2014, My Aunt was faced with a new challenge, a new student was enrolled in her class, He was very violent. According to his parent they had locked him before inn his room to not hurt other. My aunt was faced with tension and anxiety that time. The first moments in class were fine as he continue to behaved. But it was later on when my aunt came to him to get his paper when he suddenly got violent and punches my aunt in the stomach. That was the first time, my aunt stumbled to the floor. Good thing parents were also there. But that event gave more courage to my aunt to continue teaching. For her mantra is keep trying and pushing and struggling, keep on trying and never stop for you r goal. For her failures are part of it to be successful. My aunt never give up and continue to teach specially on the new student. Days, weeks and Months passed by and the parent of the new student were much happy and satisfied as their son's behavior changed a lot. Exposing him to a new environment has definitely helped him.

One of the highlights on the teaching career of my aunt is when she was able to achieved championship in the annual events for children with Down syndrome. This is an annual event hosted by Department of Education, participated by many schools. Children with special needs were able to showcase their talents and skills in different categories. The highlight of it was the "Searched for a Star".
25353873_1640662732679415_3129611451594877822_n.jpg25299474_1640664999345855_4253509083501449974_n.jpg
With all the preparation, training and trusts that my aunt exerted, it all paid off as they won majority of the games. The support of the parents and community were overwhelming. For my Aunt it was not the championship, it was the feeling that you were able to achieved of what it seems to be impossible and see them grows.

I hugged my aunt upon hearing what happened today. she told me that she is fine and her new student will be her new challenged.
"There is nothing to say that success will come to you at the very first attempt. Sometimes, you have to struggle for years before you can reach the place you aimed for. There will be multiple setbacks on the way, and if you give up every time you encounter a roadblock, it will be impossible to ever achieve anything."Never, never give up “. If you believe in these four words, you can turn the impossible to possible.

Sort:  

nice topic to discuss and highlight it because in some countries there is no care to all human

thank you

Kabayan paki follow mo nga ako at vote rin

done, me din ha

upvoted great content very good read. From fb.

thank you so much, Godbless you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64