My Favorite 2017 Song: Let Me Know - Maleek Berry

in #love6 years ago


In a bid to wrap up 2017 in a beautiful way, I have been doing a review of some notable and memorable things that happened this year. In my previous post, I wrote about TOP TRENDY SLANGS IN NIGERIA 2017 and this time, i'd be talking about my fav 2017 song.

"Let Me Know" by Maleek Berry is a love-themed tune about a romantic love where the man is trying to get an assurance from his lover to know if she truly loves him. I'm an emotional person and got myself addicted to this track. Maleek Soyebi, who is popularly known as Maleek Berry, is a British born, Nigerian record producer who turned artiste. His break into the Nigerian music industry came in 2013 with his collaboration with award winning Starboy boss, Wizkid on the track ‘The matter'.

This song connects the heart of two lovers together and is a form of monologue where the male lover is speaking to the female lover and she's probably responding with non-verbal languages such as smiles, hand gestures etc. In one of the lines, the man tells the lover that hope she's aware that they have been best friends for a year and he was keeping it real with no feelings but all he wants to know is if they are just friends or lovers. He further tells her that he is not hiding his feelings anymore and he has stopped being a player - he will be faithful now.

To show how much he loves her, he says hope she knows he hates it when a man come to talk to her and he would act as if he is not watching. He might be said to be overprotective but there is a saying that you have to fight for what you love. The male lover repeats the word "Let me know" and its pidgin equivalent "Make I Know" twenty-eight(28) times in the song. This repetition shows how much he wants to get a re-assurance from his lover.

Listen to the song below

Here is the lyrics

"Let Me Know"

Wake up, wake up...

You know I love to see your face with no make up, make up

I just need your attention baby, see the way I dey tension baby

Let me know, let me know, let me know

If I'm more than just a friend to you

More than just a friend to you

Make I know, make I know, make I know

'Cus you know say I dey try for you

You know say I go ride for you

You know we been best friends for a year now

It's summer sixteen yeah we're here now

I been keeping it G no feelings (oh na na na)

That's why I dey sing this song so you feel me (yeah yeah)

I just wanna let you know, I no dey hide no more

And I ain't a player no more, next to you I deya for sure

Omo let me know, you don't want to be solo

I go hang my Tee for you, put you on my team for sure (yeah yeah)

Let me know, let me know, let me know

If I'm more than just a friend to you

More than just a friend to you

Make I know, make I know, make I know

'Cus you know say I dey try for you

You know say I go ride for you

You know I hate when a man come talk to you (oh na na)

Mi tryna gwan like I ain't really watching you (you know say I pree you)

If it's a crime that I'm falling in love with you (you got a bad man falling)

You know I don't mind doing 25 to life for you

I just wanna let you know, I no dey hide no more

And I ain't a player no more, next to you I deya for sure

Omo let me know, you don't want to be solo

I go hang my Tee for you, put you on my team for sure (yeah yeah)

Let me know, let me know, let me know

If I'm more than just a friend to you

More than just a friend to you

Make I know, make I know, make I know

'Cus you know say I dey try for you

You know say I go ride for you

Maleeky Berry konkolo

T'oba d'agba a gbe iyawo

Maleeky Berry konkolo

T'oba d'agba a gbe iyawo

[x2]

Let me know, let me know, let me know

If I'm more than just a friend to you

More than just a friend to you

Make I know, make I know, make I know

'Cus you know say I dey try for you

You know say I go ride for you

SOURCE

AZLyrics.com
YouTube
naijaloaded

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76