You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stereotyping People And Why It's Not Acceptable.

in #love7 years ago

I'm sorry that happened to you.

I don't believe that all stereotyping is wrong, it's a way to better understand the world around us since things like culture and common experience creating patterns...

BUT

We need to keep our stereotypes in check, we need to recognize them, be willing to change them, and to avoid judging individuals based on our stereotypes. We also tend to judge subjectively and unfairly on our stereotypes.

I think of stereotyping as a way of creating a kind of database...but it's really foolish and destructive to immediately stereotype people or to assume you are right about all your stereotypes are accurate. When I meet someone they are just another human being but if they begin to fit stereotypes, I take note of it. If they don't I will Allow them to challenge and modify my stereotypes.

Also it's important to note hat stereotypes aren't always in the front of my mind and I try to be flexible to allow people to be themselves for a while before I make any assessments and even gen I don't feel it's always a good idea to share my assessments unless they are invited.

Sort:  

This is a very interesting reply. I do understand what you mean by it helping to create a pattern to better understand the world. The key of what you wrote is to not judge others based on these stereotypes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70