Wedding Dresses - A Shopping Story Part II

in #love7 years ago

Part II: Kleinfeld Bridal

I've watched Say Yes to the Dress several times before, but I never dreamed I would be even close to the actual place. It turns out it's easier to try on their world famous dresses than to try to catch an episode.

Fortunately, I decided to dress shop off camera; but after stepping foot inside Kleinfeld Bridal, I was able to view the excitement of doing it for the world to see! After waiting for about 15 minutes in a crowded lobby, a very peppy woman took Maria and I past the “great room” (the place where the show films) and into the tiny hallway where the normal folks try on dresses. We had a fairly small sized dressing room for the situation. It was okay, but I’d have liked a whole runway for my shopping experience.

Our helper, Alyssa, gave us water (very nice) and started with the questions:

"How much would you like to spend?" (6 to 8k)
"When is your wedding?" (Next Year)
"Where will it be?" (Germany and California)

And then a few fun things about how my future husband and I met, just to make it personable.

I tried on 7-10 dresses in the price range I provided her. It was slightly overwhelming and very quick. I wanted more free time with the dresses and it would have been nice to walk around for a few minutes in them. A bride needs to be able to move! All in all, the experience was exciting and very helpful. It really solidified my love for lace! The thing I didn't like was that she picked them out for me. When I shop, I want to do the choosing. I understand their process, but I maybe I would have liked something she didn't think I would like, you know? Additionally, there was no flexibility in going down in price. I see now on their site that they have gorgeous dresses for far less than the 6-8k range I suggested.

Boutique Employees: Simply because a customer says they will pay a price, does not mean they won't be "Wow'd" by something less.

I suggest if you go to Kleinfeld's, you pick a few different materials with which to work. Do a little research before you go too! The day I went was the day Pnina Tornai was having a trunk show. If you do your research, you can see what might be there and ask for it specifically. Alas, I hadn't done my research so luckily Alyssa helped with this and introduced me to this fabulous Israeli designer. Had I chosen the Pnina dress, I would have also received a discount. So this is something to ask about as well.

Tornai

Tornai

Pnina Tornai V-Neck Sheath Gown in Lace ($5400 that day only because of an exclusive trunk show)

Another thing to think of before you go dress shopping ANYWHERE, take a notebook. You'll walk away with photos and one or two names, but you won't get the full scope of what you saw or tried on. I have so many photos; but at the end, they only give you the names and prices of your top two favorites. The dress I thought I liked the most actually did not photograph well at all. And a dress I dismissed in the beginning looks amazing in my photos. I wish I would have kept detailed notes. I don't remember these two following designers at all, but they were very unique, sexy, and beautiful!

Boning

Boning

Beautiful Dress with Visible Boning

Tony Ward makes unbelievably detailed wedding dresses. I believe Maria teared up a little with this one. The lace and flowers and just everything were impeccably done. In the room, it overshadowed everything including me! It was just amazing! The thing that didn't go over so well in the end was that Tony's dress did not at all photograph well on me. The dress was gorgeous, but I was not. Had I purchased this dress, the dress would be getting married and I would be the puppet master. This is another thing to watch out for when trying on dresses. They may look INSANE and beautiful, but do you take over the dress? You have to. You're not in a runway show. The dress should be at 30% and you should be at 70%.

Tony Ward

Tony Ward

Tony Ward Illusion Sheath Gown in Beaded Lace ($6300 that day). Unfotunately, as gorgeous as this dress was, it did not photograph well at all on me. Where’s my butt?! Where’s my shape?! I’m totally gone!

Mark Zunino had the only high-low wedding dress (at least in my price range) at Kleinfeld's. This was rather disappointing. I really really wanted one of these styles because I’m quite proud of my long legs. Unfortunately, with nothing additional for comparison, I couldn't go with this edgy style in the end. Even though it was not quite suitable for my wedding, his dress was absolutely adorable.

Zunino

Zunino

Super cute and super teeny Mark Zunino Sweetheart (~8k that day). Note: this was a sample size worn on the runway, which made me super excited!

Total cost for any alterations of any dress: $700.

Likes:

  • The selection was broad. There are a LOT of designers who want their dresses here.
  • Alyssa was very helpful, excited, and enthusiastic.
  • You can take as many photos as you want!

Dislikes:

  • I felt a little awkward pressure at the end. “So, are you ready to say, ‘Yes, to the dress.’?” Hahaha. I need time, woman!
  • I think the prices are outrageous and vamped up because of the press the place gets.
  • We had to wait in the lobby with a ton of other loud anxious women. There weren’t enough seats. It was quite sloppy for a place that sells such high-end items.
  • The dressing room was very small.
  • I wasn’t able to view the stock on my own. This was really disappointing.

Photo Dump

Princess

I felt like a princess in this mystery dress

Greek Feeling

Long Greek Dress? I loved it! It would have been perfect. This is the one I would have bought, if I had already had my wedding days. Surprise! You should aim for comfort, in addition to style.

Sort:  

it will not be too bad if you get some presents...
:))

This is Madness !!

madness? While you were trying to earn a few dolar here, she got married and finished the job.

Oh my! haha THIS is awesome!

I agree..
but not every bride is so lucky..
hahah

Is that a showcase or a bride?

just an ordinary wedding. "by the way she is the bride alive"
:-))

Funny!! Good post

Thank you so much for enjoying it!

All wedding dresses are adorable, and I think they are very comfortable. It's important to feel good wearing the dress you like the most. I prefer long, vaporous dresses.

I wish you a lot of happiness and love

I must agree with you :)
Thank you for your well wishes!

I like the idea of white color dresses for ladies. However, in our culture / society (in South Asia), brides usually wear colorful dresses on their wedding.

I LOVE South Asian weddings. They're breathtaking! It's such a lovely contrast to our American/European style of black & white. It's funny to see how the bride and grooms in America dress their wedding party in colorful styles though...you can tell we secretly want a colorful wedding too!! ;)

hahah agree ! :)

Congratulations @wachtelsfamily, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1612 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1415.42. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

wow I guess cause its such a well known shop- due to show - that it is super crowded! I didn't realize you can't shop on your own lol! but, I will say those dresses look beautiful on you :)

Yes! It was also during the summertime, so I guess I shouldn't hold that against them! It was a truly unique experience. I felt like I was behind the scenes of a movie and the stylist was like, "You wear this and this and this and this! DONE!" haha
Thank you so much for your kind words! :)

I love love the first dress and the last dress. What a fun experience for you.

It was quite the experience for sure. The first dress was my favorite too, in the end! Looking back through the photos, I dreamed of being able to take the bodice from the last one and pair it with the lower portion of a silk dress hehe

My favorite is the first in your "photo dump" - that princess dress is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing! I'll never pay that much for any dress, but good to know.

The princess dress was a must! I had to have at least one try of that style. It was surprisingly irresistible! I was SO tempted to get such a dress :)
The cost of them all was outrageous. In part 3, I'm going to shock everyone with how much I really paid in the end. We should all get into dress making haha one can make a TON of money!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32