My first love

in #love7 years ago

I did not recognize this until writing the end of this piece, that’s when it hit me, while listening to Akeboshi’s “Messed up my mind”, that this was love of a different kind.

Having a garage in the front yard of the house, I was accustomed to seeing the repair of old vehicles that gruntled to a stuttery start, during my childhood years. I enjoyed watching mechanics operating on them like surgeons and piecing them back together to a new life. For me, this was nothing short of magic. They were heroes that cared for beings that could not talk, speak or express themselves and served till their last breath.

jeep-765854_960_720.jpg
Source: Pixabay.com

These loyal motorised beings had been my source of joy during rainy monsoons when we would climb over them to look at the rising water levels on the banks of the Brahmaputra. I have enjoyed many numerous joy-rides on the backs of their kinship. They have ferried me to places. On hot days they have turned the air cooler by letting the wind in and during winters they have stopped that invasion through their protective glass shield.

My love for these deep grovelling giants grew with time, leading me to pursue a degree in mechanical engineering. This love recently escalated when their makers decided to turn them herbivores, racing them towards a greener future.

This piece is written in loving memory of my childhood buddy, the Jeep that got eaten to death by its archenemy the Rust. However, its strong heart and other parts were donated (sold) to breathe life into others of its kind. In a way it achieved immortality serving even after death. Sayonara, my friend.
#SacrificialKnight

Sort:  

Congratulations @vickylalani! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41