Celebrating Siblings

in #love6 years ago (edited)

Siblings are like friends who will never do us harm, someone we can rely on blindfolded. How often do we call our bestest of friends : 'Hey brother' or 'Hey we are sisters forever'. As i am today, living and breathing the best positive worthy version of myself today in this world, the credit goes to my siblings too in shaping me. And I am sure everyone's siblings have an important role to play which we hardly appreciate but we can never deny.

We have Mother's day and Father's day which we celebrate all over the world. We express our affection and sense of appreciation to our parents by various tokens of love. For some people, expressing their affection or love is a hard task, and when we have particular days to express such feelings, it gets easy like 'Hey mom, happy mother's day'. I remember how this year my dad on mother's day gifted my 84 year old grandmother a gift for the very first time in his lifetime. Surprised, my grandmother asked him, 'Whats this for?' and then he explained 'Today is mother's day and this is a gift for you', it took him around 10 minutes to make her understand, as she has hearing problem. I was standing there, witnessing it and feeling good, thinking its never too late to express love.

Again, but we do not have a day for siblings, something like 'Brother's day' or 'Sister's day'. I am aware that some part of the United States do have a 'Sibling's day', but unlike mother's day or father's day, the popularity gap is huge.


Now I want to share with you all, a day which we celebrate in India called 'RakshaBandhan'. This particular day for which the date changes every year according to moon calendar is a festival very close to hearts of all Indians. Rakshabandhan also known as 'The Rakhi Festival' is celebrated by tying an amulet called 'RAKHI' on the wrist of your loved one. Principally, rakhi is tied by sister on the wrist of brother, but there are no such hard rules, it is tied as a symbol of protection. As a token of love, brothers and sisters also give gifts to each other.

Below I am celebrating Rakshabandhan with my brother :

5D1A45BE-24D2-42D2-96B8-2EC1389ACD68.jpeg

Here is a picture of my 'Rakhi Plate' from this year RakshaBandhan which was celebrated in India on 26th August. The beautiful threads you see in the picture below are called Rakhis and can be bought during the festival time from anywhere in markets, varying designs with varying prices.

0D02663B-14A2-47E4-9FE3-FCC4A294BFFA.jpeg

Sisters who live far and cannot come home to celebrate sends their amulets by courier services to maintain the festival history. As an example, sisters of my father do send the Rakhis and i tie them on my father's wrist on their behalf.

Here are some more pictures to give you insight :

DF70C0FF-3C02-4C27-9479-C9173F720227.jpeg

854899C0-7681-466F-98AD-119C9C142C89.jpeg

I, personally, love this festival, because this is one day when i get a chance to express my affection to my brother as i find it very hard to do it otherwise.

You, get any chance and show love to your siblings, because its never too late.

Till next blog, have a good day :)

Sort:  

Very sweet post..
This kind of posts actually make steemit a better and positive place to read something..
Please keep this work up always...😊

Posted using Partiko Android

thankyou my friend, always 😇

Thanks for the post, vibesforlife.

This bot runs through hundreds of posts per day selecting a small percentage of posts that have exceptional positivity.

Your post has been selected and upvoted because it has a high concentration of positive words that give feel-good vibes. Thank you for creating content that focuses on the bright side.

Your post has also been entered to be included in a daily roundup of positive posts.Please comment 'yes' or 'no' if you feel that my bot is correct in its judgement of this post. Your comments will be used to determine if this article belongs in the curated list. Over time, your feedback will be used to improve the judgement of this bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68976.16
ETH 3307.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67