Is Falling in Love Really like a Fairy-tale?

in #love6 years ago

I have this friend who is a hopeless romantic. She believes so much in fairytales and it's all over her diary. She has this precise detail of her Prince-Charming and how she wants him to look like.

When I try to get her to be logical, she says "If you dream it enough, then your dreams might come true." This is good, it's good to believe in your dreams; but regarding this case, I believe it's unhealthy for her.

As a kid, she grew up watching Disney cartoons and now she's into Korean dramas which are all fictions and might tend to over-emphasize love just to make it more interesting to watch.

Are they misleading her into believing there's a Prince waiting for her with all the "happily ever after" ? or is love truly like that? Is love a discovery thing or is it a "Wham Bham! Here's your true love"? I know it may seem like it encourages ladies to go through their hard times with a light and merry heart, but all i see there is a form of distraction. It's like saying "Think of your prince charming, think of good things when you're in a tough situation, instead of standing up for yourself and facing it."

I don't mean to be a sadist though, it's just my own point of view. And now I'm still as confused as ever cos' I tend to put myself in people's shoes when I'm deciding, before judging.

Are fairy tales healthy enough for our children and ladies? Should I allow my friend continue dreaming on, even when the chances of her finding this guy of hers and living happily ever after is so slim? Or should I continue to burst her bubbles and discourage her from seeing movies like that?

What are your thoughts on this, please?

If you found this helpful or interesting, kindly upvote, re-steem, and follow @turn2honey

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94