A Tale From South Africa Of Love and Sorrow

in #love8 years ago

I wanted to take some time to introduce myself, the name is Tich The Great and I'm excited to find Steemit.
A little about myself.
Born in Zimbabwe, moved to South Africa at the age of 14.
When I reached 19 I met and fell in love with a truly beautiful Zulu girl.
My world changed. All I wanted was to give her the world. Had she asked
for the moon, I would have spent the rest of my life trying to bring it down for her.
Lisa was her name, short and very demanding.
She was very bossy and kept me on my toes.
I loved it.

We had nothing between the two of us other than our love for each other.
We would spend literally 24hrs together.
It was a perfect match.

After 4yrs together I decided to get a job in America, the goal was to put
money together for a wedding and a house for my lady.
I got the job, packed my bags to start an 8-month contract with Carnival cruise lines.
The 8-months were hard, being away was a test for us. We both held on and even got
through the time stronger and deeper in love.

Big mistake:
Instead of getting married and buying the house like we had wanted, we both decided
it would be better for us for me to go back for one more contract so that we can have
a car, plus the house and a wedding of our dreams. So I bought a car instead for my lady,
and after two months with her, I went back.

After only three months into the second contract, word got to me that there was someone else :(
My Queen was kissing someone else right in front of my own mother.
It broke my heart. It destroyed me.

When my contract ended, I went back home, my love for her was still
there but I was bitter. I got her the house I had promised, but the wedding
was not on the table. I really felt betrayed.

I chose to go back instead and I met someone else there.
Enter the Romanian Queen

Nicoleta had big brown eyes, long black silky hair with the most beautiful
olive brown skin.
I remember the first time I laid my eyes on her, I was truly mesmerized.
I had never seen such beauty.
It took me 4 months to get her to go out with me.

From the day we started dating, we were always together. We went to many
countries together. Being with Nico (Short for Nicoleta) was just amazing.

After about a year into the incredible relationship, Lisa my Ex rocked up on one
of the ships Nico and I were working on.
She had sold everything and decided to follow me across the world.

Dolly Parton said it best in her song (It's too late to love me now)
Yes, I had moved on with someone who truly appreciated me.

I have to admit, it has been over 15years since the last time I saw Lisa, yet
not a single day passes that I don't think of her. (Strange)

Unfortunately, Nico decided to leave the company and being with each other
became a challenge. We tried leaving in Romania, but the language made it
impossible for me to get a job.
We tried living in South Africa, but she couldn't deal with the way black and whites
lived at the time in South Africa. She is White and I black,

So, we started going back and forth between Romania and South Africa until
the relationship just died down :(

Why am I telling you all this?

Today after 15 years of not a word from Lisa and 5 years of no word from Nico
I got an email from both of them. The emails broke my heart.

I will start with the email from Lisa

"What I did to you, is my biggest regret. Letting the love of my life down. Not a single day
passes that I don't think of you. I pray that before I reach my dying day, I get to see you
at least once. From the day I did what parted us, I have lived a loveless life filled with regret.
I was blessed to bumped into Tanya who gave me your email.
Tich, I'm soo sorry."

The email is very long but I think you get the point.

From Nico...
" I'm married now 3yrs, tomorrow is going to be my anniversary yet I sit here thinking of u.
I have stocked your facebook for many years and I know u are still single. At times it brings joy
when u mention me and u tell the world what I have meant to u. I wish...."

As I write this post I carry a very heavy heart but I think I'm going to end it here.
I guess it's true that no one ever falls the whole way out of love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67676.49
ETH 2622.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63