The Language(s) of Love

in #love7 years ago

IMG_0033.JPG

I'm assuming that most of you know what love languages are, or have at least heard of them.

For those who don't, they are the way we communicate love, not just to someone we are romantically in love with, but also family, friends, anyone we love.

IMG_0032.PNG

There are five main love languages that we all communicate with, whether we realize it or not. Most of us have one or two that are at the top of the list, meaning they are the ones we communicate with, and wish to receive the most.

IMG_0035.JPG

1. Words of Affirmation

Words of affirmation simply means, you enjoy when someone tells you how much you mean to them, or you show love by telling someone how much you appreciate something or how much you love them. Unfortunately, in some cases, your love language can actually work against you, meaning you will likely take to heart anything negative anyone says to you, and may hold onto it for a long time, finding it hard to move on.

IMG_0036.JPG

2. Gifts

This is one simple enough. Some people communicate through gifts, not always being something bought, just the act of giving something to another person. Often though, it is preferred that there is meaning behind the gift, and not just something random.

IMG_0040.JPG

3. Acts of Service

Acts of service includes doing something that will help another person, doing the dishes, folding the laundry, getting them something to drink (shout out to my hubby for doing just that while I was writing this post). Basically anything that is helpful, and will make that person smile. It can be something small, such as making sure they have their favorite towel for their shower, or something as big as cooking a fancy dinner for them, or planning a surprise vacation. People who's love language is acts of service enjoy the thought that was put into making their day better or doing something thoughtful to make their day easier/ more enjoyable.

For example: my husband picked a flower on his way home, and placed it beside my pillow for me to wake up to(:

IMG_0038.GIF

4. Physical Touch

This one may seem obvious, and although it does include sexual touch, non-sexual is included as well. Simply holding hands, cuddling, anything where two people are touching is under the umbrella. This actually happens to be one of my top love languages, and I like nothing better than to be cuddled, or him (the hubs) reaching out to hold my hand, rub my shoulder, put his arm around me etc. This is another one that can work against you, because when I am angry, I don't like to be touched by the object of my rage, often leading to hurt feelings/making the problem worse .

IMG_0039.JPG

5. Quality Time

Quality time is defined differently for different people. For some, it is having an uninterrupted conversation, for others, going and doing something together, while sometimes, it can simply be defined as "being together". In my case, that is what it consists of. As quality time and touch are about equal with me, it is one of the most important things in my book. I'm one of those that don't require talking or doing anything, just being together, even being in the same room to me is quality time. As is the case with most of these, this love language can also be a negative. For instance, if your counterpart is busy all the time, and it seems they never have time for you, then you might start feeling neglected or lonely.

Once you understand love languages, it is much easier to navigate relationships, as you start to understand what makes them tick. Even if your honey speaks a different love language than you, you can always always practice and cultivate your other love languages.

My hubby speaks a totally different love language than me, but because I know this, I have slowly gotten used to it, and able to communicate with him in ways that he will appreciate more

Did you know about love languages ? What is your love language ? Do you and your spouse speak the same one ? I'd love to know !

Much Love
Rie<3

Sort:  
Unfortunately, in some cases, your love language can actually work against you, meaning you will likely take to heart anything negative anyone says to you, and may hold onto it for a long time, finding it hard to move on.

THIS is the hardest part for me. I love someone so much and something negative, even small, can hurt a lot. Though I've learned to get past it.

Thank you for taking the time to write this <3 I love this LOVE post :)

Aw im so glad you liked it!! Once I understood love languages it helped me so so much in all my relationships, not just romantic ones, and I'll keep that in mind about yours :D

:) Thank you for writing such a nice post. I like your style of writing. Keep it up!

Thank you!! I will do my best. Alot of work went into this post lol

I‘ve read about “The Five Love Languages” in the book by G. Chapman. Your interpretation is more attractive, thanks)))

No problem! I've never actually read the book, just read about each individual love language, and of course what I've learned about them from experience :D

Thanks for the replay. I didn’t answer your question about my love language(s) well; I know that everyone needs to have their emotional tank to be filled. It’s a sorta interdependence to give and get… Words of Affirmation and Acts of Service, praps, are mine

Thanks for sharing!!! <3

I will definitely save this post somewhere, so i can read it again, when i forget some part :)

Awesome! (:

Love your illustration. Mine are gifts, words of affirmation, physical touch, quality time.

Thank you! I tried to find ones that really went with what I was trying to relay to everyone lol Thank you for sharing yours too!

I've known for some time now that love is a lifestyle. I now know that it could also be a language. I really think that to live is to live and to love is to live. Another part of the language could also be being there for the ones you love especially in times of need or trouble.

Well this is an actual real science, so I didn't really add anything to it, other than my own experience, that would probably fall under acts of service though

Words of approval - fill with positive and good mood, gifts - you need to see the eyes of children, how much joy, while we are not together - lets think what you can do for someone dear to you. Thank you for your post - there is a lot of positive in it.

This is a great post for the community. Many may not even realize they are showing their love through certain actions(for example gifts). I would say my wife and I utilize all five.

However, I lean more towards acts of service, words of affirmation, and physical touch. Lately, I have been working more on quality time as I find this very important. I don't do gifts often but when I do they have a special meaning behind them.

I know i didn't until my hubs (boyfriend at the time) introduced me to love languages, and it definitely helped me:D I communicate with gifts alot, but dont really care about receiving them, so that one is a weird one for me XD

I had no idea these were considered languages until you pointed them out. I had to sit here and reflect a moment about which way we communicated using these languages. It was an insightful read and one I appreciate very much.

Thank you! Hopefully people can gain some insight into their own life lives :D

Oh my!!! That is gorgeous heart eyes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99