Is Marriage The Ideal?

in #love7 years ago

Here I am...

Standing at the age of 30, with an entire life ahead of me still to observe, feel, and experiment with.
Status quo states that I should be:
Settling down (I'm barely "settled" even when I'm sitting)
Looking for "The One" (who names their child The One anyways?)
Having kids (I love kids, by the way, but I'd rather have a snack)
dreamstime_xs_3509066.jpg

Honestly, I feel that our generation will completely DISMANTLE the older rules of relationships...

Our parents and grandparents come from a time where raising a family was a team effort. Women stayed home to "tend to the kids", while the man brought home the bacon. Wow...what a difference 50-some years makes, huh?

In the dot-com era, starting your own business is as easy as making a store front on Big Cartel, and advertising can be automated via social media. Who needs to bring home the bacon...when you can fry your bacon as you work?
Families have become less inter-dependent, and it's completely normal for singe mothers, and fathers, to never need the income of the other in order to make it all work.

So now, I ask myself at 30...is marriage a goal for me?
Well, in order to answer that question, I have to review a few things.

First, can I see myself emotionally attached to one, and only one, for the rest of my life?
Sure! I've never been the type to shy away from commitment, so no worries there.

Second, is the financial engagement worth it?
Well, there lies my concerns..

The idea of being contractually obligated and bound to another person is somewhat limiting to me. I mean, if I work
hard for my own financial stability, should I not be able to enjoy those benefits long-term....REGARDLESS of if my
romantic life is in shambles?

I think that a majority of my freedom-loving, future-thinking, progressive Millennial friends would agree that the older ideas of marriage are too outdated for our lifestyle.

Is marriage truly the goal, the "ideal"?
I don't know...but IDEALLY, I would like to be loved.

Sort:  

I think that all of us have our own right for decisions. I never pictured myself as a married person, I never dreamed about big wedding or kids. Life is a funny thing and right now I'm married but do I feel force by society to produce kids straight away or at all?! Hell no.. why? Because I do whatever I feel I want to do with my life and I don't look what other people say.. so what I'm trying to say here is... Do What your Soul and Mind is telling you to do.. and if someone don't like it... Just Don't Care! Good luck

Thats a great way to look at it! Thank you

I just read an article about this today. Marriages are more successful today in the US than they have been in a while. Why? A lot fewer people are getting married, and if they do, they get married later in life. So what you end up with is more mature people who really want to spend their time together rather than just a partnership and more successful marriages overall.

wow, that definitely gave me something to think about. thanks!

Congratulations @theliteshado! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65