Ten Years Later...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #love5 years ago (edited)
It was ten years ago today when I lost my husband. He had Pancreatic Cancer, one of the more aggressive forms of cancer which is impossible to treat after a certain point. A tumor had quietly grown in his abdomen, leaving only very subtle symptoms of what was coming. The symptoms were so subtle that doctors missed the bigger picture, as did we. By the time we connected all the dots and figured out what was going on, it was too late, as the tumor had become so ingrown around the pancreatic ducts and blood vessels that it was deemed inoperable.

The winter he passed was a cold one. We'd had some trouble with the heat pump, but it managed to keep the house warm enough, thankfully. The area where we lived had some snow occasionally, but not a terribly large amount.

Several inches of snow had fallen in the weeks before Don's passing, however. I had to go out frequently to pick up medicine and food for him, so the snow made my outings a little less than desirable, but I managed. His pain medication was so strong that we could not get much of it at any one time. Foods often taste differently to people with cancer, so many things that he once enjoyed were no longer palatable, leading to many trips to the market to get alternative fare, often to have it rejected after just one bite. My husband had always exhibited almost child-like excitement over food, so it really tore at my heart to see his list of options in such decline.

As the cancer progressed, he wasn't able to eat much at all without it coming back up a short time later. He finally reached the point where eating was virtually impossible, and his only options were liquid. Finally, he wasn't able to keep even liquids down, either, and we knew the end was near.

Although the outings for food and medicine were made treacherous at times by the snow, frozen roads, piles of snow, wintry wind, and cold temperatures, it was lovely to see the sights as I drove to the pharmacy and market. Perhaps those little outings were part of what kept me sane through it all.

Fortunately, we had the benefit of Hospice nurses visiting every day or three to keep him as comfortable as was possible. I don't know what we would have done without them, and I have a very soft spot in my heart for Hospice nurses and what they do. (Also, Hospice cared for my mother three different times, and my father once, adding to my admiration of their profession.) And when the end finally happened, only one phone call from me to his Hospice nurse brought the necessary people to the house... 😥

And still, ten years later, I miss him terribly and think of him every day. He was Shiva to my Shakti, and our union was bliss. Forever my Love, Don... 💖

 😊

to learn more about either of these projects, please visit: @heyhaveyamet or @steemterminal


31-Jan-2020

Sort:  

🤗🤗😘😘

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 20 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!BEER
3

I'm sorry for your loss and the ordeal your husband went through. Thankful for the great and compassionate hospice folks' help.

You just received DERANGED @thekittygirl Keep up the great work. Congrats, you have been gifted 1 DerangedCoin. You can redeem 20 of them for an upvote from the deranged.coin account. Redeem your tokens by sending to deranged.coin through Steem Engine with your post URL in the memo field, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

My heart goes out to you dear @thekittygirl, I am so sorry for your loss.
It's been over 10 years since my mom lost her battle, she had lung cancer.
The pain never really goes away, I've just learned to cope.
Sending you best wishes from Germany <3

Sending you best wishes from afar @thekittygirl, somehow we never quite feel the same after such a loss. Which, I think, is just healthy and normal... we have lost many close to us to cancer... and it just sucks.

I have been to your page numerous times (usually for the barn pics) and I had no clue about your husband! SO sorry for this!

😢😥😪

My mom just found out she has a growth in her pancreas. She is having a Whipple Feb 25. Her biopsy result came back suspicious but the sample wasn’t enough to know.... so we have to wait til surgery.

I am so sad and scared.

I am so sorry for your loss. 😪 10 years must feel terribly long and like the blink of an eye all at once.

Such an insidious disease. So so sorry for your lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36