True Love: The Start Of Our Journey

in #love8 years ago (edited)

The way we met was anything but conventional, or maybe it was. We met online. Not on a dating site, just in a random chat room while watching anime. I didn't know this then but he was in a complicated relationship with someone else at the time. Not that it mattered. My heart had been shattered a few months prior to us meeting and I swore off relationships. So our friendship started and then it grew.

enter image description here
Image credit

Soon we were talking almost all day, every day. Knowing that I was starting to develop feeling for Daniel, I tried to run from it. I was afraid of getting hurt again so I decided to end the friendship. Thinking that being honest about my feelings would scare him off enough to agree, I let him have it. Not all of it but everything I was willing to admit to myself.

enter image description here
Image credit

To my surprise he wanted to stay friends and for the next few days it was really awkward. Our relationship was not the same and it was irking me. Annoyed I let him have it again ("if we can't communicate like normal friends why are you keeping me around? Why do you want to hurt me? "you know stuff like that). This probably pushed him to the edge and he came out with the truth. He also had feelings for me but we had a small issue called distance and a lot of it.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Daniel feared that our relationship would not work, he is a physical person but against everything that was against us we decided to give our relationship a chance. It wasn't official but I was his and he was mine. For the next few months I saved every penny I could in order to surprise him. My aunt had gone down to where he was staying and was renting an apartment. It was our time, finally we could be together I thought. I talked to my aunt about possibly visiting for a week, we organized and set a date. A week before I was supposed to leave I went online to look for bus tickets. I don't know why but I got a feeling that I should call my aunt to confirm everything. She flaked out of our agreement and I was unable to go. This nearly broke our relationship.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Daniel however wasn't giving up so soon. The week I would have seen him he left his job and started working for an old company he used to work for before we met. I didn't know this at the time but he applied for a supervisor post through his company at a branch closer to me. In December of 2014 he informed me that he got the job and that I need to start looking for places for him to stay. I was so excited and we made plans to meet.

enter image description here
enter link description here

The day finally arrived. It was the 28th of February 2015. Daniel and I agreed to meet at 3pm in the garden at my mom's work. I had spent hours prior looking for the perfect dress, doing my hair and makeup. Everything to look perfect for him. 2:55pm I walk out to the garden, I found the perfect spot for us to sit and I waited. At around 3:45 pm it started to rain, only a drizzle at first, Daniel was no where to be seen and his phone was off. I sat there in the rain for 3 hours. Believing that I had been stood up, I finally got up to go back inside, I was drenched, cold and heartbroken.

enter image description here
Image Credit

I was about to start crying as I made it to the door but then my phone rang. It was Daniel, he continuously apologized for being so late and informed me that they (his brother who was helping him move and himself) had overslept, on the way to Johannesburg (560km from where he was staying) his phone had died and they ended up getting lost. He sounded sad and asked if I was still at the spot we would have met. I told him I was, his voice turned hopeful as he asked if he could come to see me right away. I was in love so I agreed and rushed inside to fix what i could about my appearance. There was nothing I could do about my wet clothes or hair but at least I could fix my make up.

enter image description here
Image Credit

I made it back outside as he pulled into a parking space and slowly started making my way toward him. My stomach went crazy with butterflies, I thought I was going to be sick so I tried not to look at him. It didn't work, he was the most handsome man I had ever laid my eyes on and it was hard for me to take my eyes off him. He was making his way to me a lot faster than I thought he would and within seconds he was standing in front of me. I slowly moved my eyes to meet his, then he crashed his lips onto mine. Suddenly it was just the two of us. Time stood still. I couldn't feel the rain on my skin or hear the people around us. It was a kiss that made me dizzy and my knees weak.

enter image description here
Image Credit

After that kiss I knew that he was the man I was going to marry. We have been together ever since.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Sorry about the long post. I started writing it a few weeks ago. Since we are now engaged I decided to finally share our story, or at least how we came to be.

Till next time
xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66374.00
ETH 3067.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67