How I Got Engaged

in #love8 years ago

So it finally happened, the man of my dreams popped the big question but in the most unconventional way. This has a bit of a back story but it is worth it I swear.
enter image description here
Image credit

It was Saturday the 1st of October 2016. I woke up and saw my aunt had sent me a message informing me that they were on their way to Scottburgh (a beach town about an hours drive from where I live). Excitedly I made plans with her for us to visit that evening and to stay over till the next day. We showed up at about 7pm, it was foggy and raining but I didn't care. From her flat you could see the waves crashing down on the beach, you could hear the roar of the sea and smell the salt in the air.

enter image description here

Daniel and I were fortunate enough to sleep in the same room this time. Romance took over, kissed and cuddled and whispered sweet nothings to each other until we fell asleep. It was the best night of my life or so I thought. I woke up with the sunrise, it was spectacular. With the sun shining very brightly I decided to get ready to go to the beach, waking Daniel in the process. I would later find out that it was a good thing I did.

enter image description here

On the beach we took a stroll, the water was freezing and a slight wind picked up. I decided to be silly and write I do in the sand. He laughed and dragged me into the water. After spending some time just holding each other, waves rolling over our feet and looking out into the distance. I decided that I wanted to walk back towards the rocks, hoping that I will see some sharks. (I've always wanted to yell out the words shark to surfers and swimmers just to see them panic). On the way Daniel informed me that he actually felt like going for a jog instead and asked if I would wait for him. I agreed. As he would tell me later he took that time to calm his nerves and devise a plan on how to pop the question because his first priority was to surprise me. That he did.

enter image description here
Image credit

The rest of the day he spent teasing me. We went back home late Sunday afternoon. Once home I started to unpack but the action was short lived as Daniel called me to the couch to cuddle and watch a series with him. I happily accepted his request (I was feeling lazy anyway) and joined him. This is where he kicked the teasing up a notch and sooner rather than later we took it back to the bedroom.

enter image description here
Image credit

After making love we always spend about 5 min cuddling before getting into the shower. During the shower Daniel usually takes longer to finish because He likes to soak up the warm water, especially on cold nights, not that night however. He got in, washed himself quickly and got out. In my mind it was because he wanted to play a game of dota before I drag him back to bed or watch the movie that was on. So I took my time in the shower.

enter image description here
Image credit

I wrapped my towel around me waking out of the bathroom and saw him looking at the TV from in front of our bedroom door. He grabbed me as I got near and told me that he just wanted to hold me for a while so I let him. While he held me he declared his love. He informed me on how I changed his life for the better and how lucky he feels. All of this made me smile, I love cheesy moments like this and in our relationship this is a normal Sunday night.

enter image description here
Image credit

I was starting to feel cold so I asked if we could continue this conversation in the bedroom. He responded that he wanted to bury me in cheese first. Obviously that made me stay. He continued with his speech (honestly I don't remember half of it). In the middle of me telling him how I feel he gets down on one knee. This shocked me, at first I thought he was joking and I tried asking but my voice failed me as tears started welling up in my eyes. "Maggie, my love, will you marry me?" I started laughing as tears rolled down my face and said Yes, I don't know how many times. We embraced and kissed and enjoyed the happiness we both felt.

enter image description here

Knowing me he let me inform my family and friends. Later that evening I decide to ask him when he decide to ask me and he informed me that it was the moment I wrote I do in the sand, he said that seeing that made him realize he didn't want to wait any longer. The next day we took one picture of us with the substitute ring to make it official on social media.

enter image description here
Image credit

Wedding is in April :) <3

Till next time
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

Happy for you! Let us choose a dress together))) Place photos and we will vote)))

That is a fantastic Idea. I am however camera shy so it will only be photo's of the dress... if they allow me to take photo's. Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64