Still Going Strong

in #love7 years ago

20171108_184610.jpg

At the age of 91 and 87 my Grandparents love is still going strong. They really are something to look up to and aspire to become. My Grandmother has dementia along with a list of medical issues yet each day my Grandfather spends his day tending to her needs. When she has a bad day, he has a bad day....when she has a good day, he has a good day.

These days not to many people stay together their entire lives. It's amazing to see a couple survive the trials of life and after all the growth you do as a person during life still find yourself on the same path as the person you fell in love with 70 years ago. They raised 6 kids to adulthood and had 1 die as an infant (crib death). My 2 Children cause my Wife and I enough stress and they are both healthy, smart, respectful, and overall great kids. Truly can't imagine the stress of 6 kids and worse the strain loosing a young baby must have caused.

I visit them pretty much weekly these days at the nursing home and get them to tell stories of years past. Times they remember so fondly that a sparkle comes into their eyes telling the stories. They seem to get lost in the stories sometimes forgetting about any troubles they may currently have. Their 70 years of shared love bonds them in a way very few will ever understand. If we could all only be so lucky as to make it to 91 and get to share that day with the person you have loved nearly your whole life.

As for the photo, felt as their love is classic and enduring Black and White was fitting. This was taken at the restaurant after dinner celebrating my Grandpa's 91st birthday.

Sort:  

thank you for this beautiful post and for reminding that true love exists, it is rare but it exist, and they are adorable :) write down their stories, I am sorry I haven't done that with my granny. They have beautiful stories to tell :)

Writing down the stories is a great idea. Thanks for the idea!

Read your last post and gave it an upvote too.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and leave a sincere comment! Also followed you. Have a great day.

They should get a National Award for being together so long. Old School is the best way of life

It's pretty amazing to me. Their generation knew that relationships and life in general isn't easy and takes work.

My heart is melting tenderly for this post, love exists and the love that your grandparents have is the proof.

Jesus that is sic a wonderful post darkhorse, I had tears in my eyes reading it. You are truly blessed to have such a wonderful family.
The photo says it all as well.
I have to resteem this one

Honestly I had tears writing it. Know their time on this earth is nearing the end is hard. Between a triple and quadruple bypass and a tumor in his brain we thought Grandpa wouldn't see 90. But then my Grandma's health started to go downhill and it became his mission to take care of her. She has gone from great health to a pace maker running her heart and meds to control all sorts of other issues in a matter of 18 months. Then the dementia kicked in early this year and that has been a whole set of new challenges for everyone.

Amazing how their bond took my Grandfather from near death (you could just see it) to a man on a mission. He has a reason to live, but if my Grandmother passes first I would bet the house that he follows within a month. It's very common with people who have been together this long and with them I just don't see it happening any other way.

My thoughts and good will are with you man. Life is hard at such periods. I and not sure if their is a better life waiting for us after we leave this one but I can tell you something about that. A bout three years ago I was struck down by an unknown virus. When the ambulance came for my I was screaming in agony. When they saw my symptoms they figured I did not have long to live so they flew me to hospital by helicopter.. While I was in the helicopter they had me hooked up to some machine which was monitoring my heart and blood and such things. At one point my heart almost stopped and they thought I was gone. At that moment I thought I was dying. But you know what...instead of becoming fearful... a calmness came over me. Everything became silent and I got strange sensation, a feeling that I was coming home. It was a wonderful feeling that I will never forget.
I was in hospital for a while in recovery but it took a year a to fully recover. I appreciate life so much these days but I do not fear death anymore. Hope that helps a little.

And that is crazy to be that close to death, glad you made it! Thanks for sharing it's interesting to hear that perspective on death from someone that was so close.

Death for those who have lived a very full life not only in years, but in sharing their love and creating an amazing family is not something to fear. We will all miss my grandparents when they go, but must say at this point we all feel this is bonus time as my Grandfather could have died 3 times now and my Grandma was so close to death everyone flew home to see her one last time. It's been a couple years of bonus time with Grandpa and Grandma was now 11 months ago when things got really bad.

With that said we make sure to see them weekly now and treat each time like it might be the last. It's a different way to view life, but each time I say goodbye and give them a huge I know if they die before I see them again it's ok. Nothing has been left unsaid and they know I love them...can't really ask for more then this...but I'm greedy and wouldn't mind another Thanksgiving and Christmas with them!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thedarkhorse to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thanks fot your information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78