The Good Vibes Contest: I Made The List

in #love6 years ago

I consider my marriage a happy one. My husband and I have been married for 8 years this year, but we have been a couple for way longer than that. While we love each other and have a stable relationship, like any marriage, we have our ups and downs. One day I was feeling disheartened, a little unappreciated and my self-esteem hit a low point. And of course, my partner felt it. He was the receiver of my moods, the target of my frustration. 

We quarreled, I sulked, and then, we made up. My hubby swooped in like the superhero he is, and all it took was a piece of paper. My piece of paper. The most valuable piece of paper in the whole wide world. I’m really not exaggerating. If you had to knock on my door right now and ask me what my most prized possession is, I would tell you that this simple list scribbled on a torn piece of A4  paper means the world to me. 

My Gift - My ULTIMATE Gift

To understand the full meaning behind this split list and why it is so extremely sentimental to me, you’ll need a little background history. You see, the husband and are HUGE, let me repeat that, HUGE fans of the American mockumentary The Office. We fell in love with the show almost 10 years ago and since then we must have watched it at least 30 times over. It’s our show, it’s our thing, we’re even active members of their fan page!

Anyway, I have always swooned over the romance that happens between two of the main characters, Jim and Pam. These two lovebirds eventually marry, making them characters that we relate to and even idealise. Now, in one of the episodes, entitled THE LIST, Pam herself was feeling unappreciated and at an all-time low. At the same time, havoc ensued in the office. There somewhat psychopath of a boss splits his employees into two lists which are titled "Winners" and "Losers".

Image Source

Now, obviously, chaos ensues (as always). But the special tear-jerking moment happens towards the end of the show when Jim gives Pam his own list of who he finds important and of value. In one column he lists her, his child and his unborn baby, and in the other column he lists "everything else", indicating that his family are his "winners". To understand the real emotions behind the moment, you’ll have to watch the episode. Watch THE LIST HERE.

Image Source

This simple list that my husband gave me made my heart melt and my insecure feelings did a complete 180. First of all, my husband knows that this is my favorite part in the whole series (the part where Pam is given Jim's list), so already the sentiment is sweet and considerate (my hubby knows me better than anyone in the world), secondly, he made an effort to put his own list together, and last, but not least, he used this gesture to uplift my spirits when I was at a low point, despite everything I have going for me, which is A LOT!

I learnt something from this gift too, which I would like to share with you. Did you know that even small gestures go a long way? I learnt that showing someone appreciation in even the smallest of ways can ignite a feeling of self-worth in that person. It makes them feel loved! Write your "list" and give it to the person who means the world to you!

Pam Halpert plans on framing her list...I PLAN ON FRAMING MINE TOO!

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189



Sort:  

Beautiful!!! 💜

Excellent initiative, congratulations @sweetpea and also for those who have had the honor of participating in it.

God bless you and your family always.

In the name of the father, of the son, of the holy spirit, Amen.

Regards...

What an incredibly sweet thing for your husband to have done for you. This is a beautiful story and thank you for sharing it with us.

Wow!! Just wow! This is one of the most heart-warming, beautiful story, a sweet act of love that I have ever read...or heard. I have no idea about the series but here I am getting teary-eyed with your story. Where do you get husbands like yours?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31