Mine was the World's First #QuoraWedding

in #love7 years ago

This is an answer I wrote on Quora for the question, "Has any couple met on Quora and fallen in love?"

Yes, my then girlfriend and I got married in December 2013. Giving my side of the story and a little more perspective specifically to your question I'd like to say, it was truly an amazing thing to find the love of my life on a site like Quora. Of course,that was not the intent, but things happened in such a way, that I can't help but realize how apt it was for me.. I've always looked for someone who I could relate to intellectually and thought of finding the right partner through destiny rather than the typical 'arranged marriage' or even get set up on dates, speed dating etc. I just let it go with the flow... And remarkably enough, we found each other on Quora! Surprising that we turned out to have a lot of commonalities, interests, beliefs, love for travel, ideologies and most importantly values.

Not that I was specifically looking for a date on Quora ;) It just happened. I've been answering quite a bit of questions and have been on Quora from the time it started. Most of the questions that I answered were about Travel, Social Media, Mythology, Technology, since they're some of my interests. I also was a blogger/journo. Deepika Gumaste my fiancée and the love of my life, being in PR (answers various questions on broad topics, such as travel, life, but mainly communications and PR) followed me on Quora.

That's where our story began. I looked at her profile, and had some mutual followers too. Loved some of her answers and up voted them as well. But I still remember the gleam and beauty in her eyes on that DP she had back then and it still is fresh in my memory :) And not that I believe in 'Love at first sight' or for that matter our belief of love as such is much more complex than ordinary, I had feeling that there's a reason why we met here... Back then it meant nothing, but now, when I connect the dots it all falls in place. And I know why...

Besides that we also followed each other on twitter and then Facebook and then the rest was history. We met offline since we lived in the same city. We realized there were a few common friends we had and owing to that, I had planned a trip to Hampi, another 'love' in my life, where she accompanied us and our love story began from that trip... One of the common things that bonds us is our love for travel and it kicked off right from the time we travelled together, after which we did a few more trips, started seeing each other regularly and then the story continued. It's been over a year that we're together and are getting married in December. So considering the overall picture, it's not just my 'love story' but personally, it has impacted a lot of ways I've changed and my thinking and my perspective have changed. Having met her, learnt things from her and at the same time going through this experience was quite something and I owe it to Quora.

Heck, we've even sat in one place with two devices reading answers on Quora ;) What more can you ask for?

P.S Our wedding's hashtag was #QuoraWedding ;)

Sort:  

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90