Why I'm Not Hanging Around to Power Up on SPUD Day (Steem Power Up Day)

in #love5 years ago

Did you know that June 1 is 'Steem Power Up Day'? This is the day you power up that steem to steempower and show your support of the platform. If you've signed up for the Minnow Power Up League here it can be a kinda big deal - we're all on our way to dolphinhood, which feels like a milestone and something to work towards. Sponsored by @yabapmatt and @steemmonsters, and organised by organized and by @paulag and @abh12345 who do a great job of looking at all that data, you can win steem and steem monsters packs by taking part and powering up.

Today is a day of two celebrations - it's Steem Power Up day, but more importantly it seems, it's also my husband's birthday - the absolute love of my life. You heard that right. My husband's the love of my life, not steem. Who knew!

We met hundreds of years ago, it seems, at his sister's house in England, where I happened to land as her sister and my friend were besties, you know - degrees of separation and stuff. It really was love at first sight - he walked into the room, and I thought to myself - first I'm going to shag you, then I'm gonna marry you.

And that was a wierd thought, because independent me was never, EVER going to get married. It was something I vehemently opposed - a piece of paper to say you'll love and OBEY? Are you kidding me? Why would I need that? I didn't want to be so bound, by either society pushing me into marriage, or feeling I had to. But there it was - and the electric spark that shivered through us with our first kiss. That's not a metaphor, by the way - we both felt this electric shock when our lips touched. It was that charged - we'd spend all of three hours together, and we were gone, baby, gone.

This was winter solstice, 2002. We spend 24 hours together and I left, back up to London and up to Edinburgh for NYE. We swapped phone numbers, and he even rang me on Christmas Day, where we spoke for hours. I arranged to meet him on 1 January - I booked a train to go all the way back to Brighton where he lived on a travellers site, in an old Bedford mobile library in a forest. He told me to call him to make sure I was coming, but he gave me the wrong number. There I was, hungover and alone and going all the way from the North to the south of England with no way of knowing he'd be on the other end to pick me up. It wasn't even my country - I was travelling. The train was delayed for hours - rain had flooded many areas and I thought I'd never get there, and sure as hell didn't think he'd be there at all! I told him I'd be there by 5, but the train did not arrive til 9pm.

Turns out he'd checked every single train from 5, and this was the last one. He'd managed to get a whole heap of his mates to go on a pub crawl in Brighton so he could borrow one of their cars, and they were getting rowdy and he needed to get them out of there. Seriously, one of them put in dick in someone's pint glass. It wasn't pretty. Thank god I was on that train, or I would have been going back up to London to where I was staying with my ex, and we would never have re-connected.

Two days later, we decided we'd get married and move to Somerset.

Except I was Australian, and he was English, and there were thousands of miles between us. He left me at the station and said 'see you in six months' - and I got back in four. I had 3 thousand Australian dollars, my 5 year old, and two suitcases. He had a truck and 90 quid.

Sixteen years later, we still marvel at how we even got together in the first place. A series of choices, and a willingness to be impulsive and take risks, and a very, very strong feeling that we should be together. And we weren't wrong - our marriage is strong, and we are still super in love.

And yes, we got married. Within a year, in a tiny rural church, and a backyard party. My parents and sister flew over. The whole thing cost us 1000 pounds and it was one of the happiest days of my life - a ceremony that said: 'hey, we are taking this shit seriously, and I love you so much that I dont want anyone else, and this says so'. Or something like that. We didn't need thousands of pounds to do it - I had second hand heels I traded for doc martens as soon as I got home, and he had tails that he got from the op shop. We honeymooned in Italy at a friend's villa and drank a substantial amount of red wine.

image.png
One of my favourite pictures of us, taken some years ago now.

We make effort and we sacrifice for each other. We work hard at our relationship, and have since the beginning - it's not a perfect SHINY marriage, but it's perfect for us because we work together to help each other out. We listen, and we love hard. We've always known, somehow, that it's worth working hard for.

I'm still not that keen on the whole 'obey' thing, however.

But because it's his birthday, and he asked if I could not steem for the day, I figured I could comply just this one day a year.

See ya post SPUD.

AND DON'T FORGET TO POWER UP!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

image.png


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

That's so cool. Congrats

Posted using Partiko Android

Your title didn't do the post justice. Fantastic story, and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to read your love story. Love is wonderful.
Stay blessed. And good luck for your future power up!

I didn't know about SPUD and did it this morning. :((

I love your story about how you met and married. I've seen bits and pieces before.

I can relate to the Doc Martins. this was me at my reception:

Pam.David.wedding.cake1. crop May.87.jpg

They made me get dressed again for a photo shoot...

Oh @goldenoakfarm I just love these old photos of you. Aren't you just beautiful!!! Loooovvveeee you ditched the dress. I felt so awkward in mine, even though it wasn't really traditional. We had banoffee pie for our cake!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I seldom wear dresses, and while I had made that one (not for the occasion, just because...) I didn't want to wear it all day. I had a reception to set up, donkey rides to give and a newborn foal to show off....

What a lovely story. I can’t get the smile off my face. Yep definitely more important than powering up day. Happy birthday to your beloved.

Posted using Partiko iOS

💚💚💚 I'd powered up anyway, you know I always do haha. We had a nice steem free day!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was captivated by your title! Happy birthday to your hubby!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha, it was intentionally misleading! Thanks for stopping by x

Posted using Partiko Android

I jumped the gun and powered up this morning. Oops...

Ha.. I power up whenever I can, so it doesn't really matter!!

Posted using Partiko Android

A wise sentiment...

I'm trying something interesting. I'm gonna hold off on claiming rewards for a week, see how much I can earn in one fell swoop.

Posted using Partiko Android

This could make for a great romcom, it's a beatiful story. Happy bday to the husband and enjoy the day.

Ha, yes it cpuld... and there's more details I didn't include!

Posted using Partiko Android

Good for you ... enjoy this day with your husband!

💚🍾

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.651 which ranks you at #530 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 533).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 165 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.47
ETH 2641.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72