@polebird: ๐ŸŒบ Flower power โ€“ Bob the hydrangea ๐ŸŒบ

in #love โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

On the topic of gardening, I would like to introduce to you one of my favorite plants, the hydrangea! In fact, I am such a fan of the hydrangea, that I have grown one in my Texas backyard. I named him Bob the hydrangea. Yes Steemit, I have named a lot of my plants in the yard (or at least my favorites).

Bob the โ€œendless summerโ€ hydrangea is a water loving plant and enjoys morning sun with afternoon shade. Itโ€™s a bit hard to keep him happy in the summer because of the sweltering summer sun, but heโ€™s managed to thrive in the spring for two seasons now and make it through the summer as well.

C105251E-B7DD-4542-9759-7826123B704E.jpeg

As I mentioned in my previous post, one of my other hobbies is gardening and flowers - and I'm eagerly awaiting spring as it is just around the corner. Time to see which perennials survived the winter and maybe pick a few beauties I can add to my garden. Watson loves to hang out when I am out digging around in the garden.

IMG_3858.jpg

I really enjoy having him reside in my backyard mainly because of the cutting flowers! I am always attempting to grow my own cutting garden to supply my vases with flowers. I have a few more flowering plants that I regularly cut blooms during the growing season and bring them inside to spruce up the house. Here, I cut a flower to adorn the dinner table!

IMG_3965.jpg

I canโ€™t wait until he pops back up in the spring. He is what is known as a perennial plant โ€“ dormant in the winter and re-growing in the spring.

IMG_2234.jpg

An interesting fact about hydrangeas: The color of the blooms is dependent on the acidity of the soil, and plant food can be added the soil to adjust the acidity.

IMG_0899 3.JPG

Here is a photos of the lovely blooms that sparked my love for hydrangeas when I visited a whole field in Taiwan.

A0CBE625-8DDA-4FA7-B666-3F257155F265 2.JPG

Thanks for reading friends! Whatโ€™s your favorite flower? I have more flower goodness coming for you about a few other top personal choices, so keep tuned!

Snapseed 23.jpg

Love,
Jess

Sort: ย 

So how did you get Bob to be pink? Acid or alkaline soil? Hydrangeas are usually blue so he's an interesting colour.

haha so I think the soil he came in must have been acidic, maybe my native soil is more alkaline?? I actually didn't get around to applying any soil amendments although I had been researching it. So, as he lived on in my yard he changed his look :P

Beautiful flowers @polebird.
I had no idea that gardening and flowers were your hobbies.

These flowers remind me of my grandma who had a lot of these hydrangeas in her flower garden.

heheh yes, it hasn't been gardening season since I started steemit :P, her flower garden must have been lovely if she had more than a few!

in a few days I see your post, a lot of beautiful plants that you post.
I also love plants and flowers, I will try to make a post about this for the future.
Please support.
Greetings @polebird

thank you very much :)

You are welcome.
Always success!

the picture is great.

thanks!

very beautiful this time I saw a variety of beautiful flowers like that, I really like

hehe glad you liked it!

Awesome.keep sharing.photograph is just amazing.looks very beautiful.nice blog.everybody will be like it.

thank you very much :)

very beautiful and healthy plants and flower looks so cool, gardening is one of the best habit

yeah, it's kind of relaxing and definitely rewarding when the flowers bloom!

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Happy Valentines and thanks for charity donation....Beautiful Jess:D

you are most welcome, happy valentines day my friend! :)

Bob looks awesome! Seriously lovely looking shot! Although I hate hydrangeas! We have one that our landlord wont let us get rid of and I just donโ€™t like the thing! How crazy that the soul affects the colour, did not know that!! Always good to learn something new on here!

heheh thank you! How come you hate hydrangeas???? glad to be of use with random facts :P

Haha probably just because we HAVE to have it in our garden!!

Naming your plants sounds so lovely!

eheh its kind of fun, I really do refer to him as bob. I'll tell hubby.. did you water bob today??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40