Unlearning Objectification: Identifying the Difference Between Lust and Love

in #love6 years ago

yogapants.jpg

I was on the subway home from work today, and since I had just come from a massage therapy session with a trusted Massage Therapist and friend, I had on comfortable yoga pants. I did not think twice about my decision to board a train full of learing men. I felt vulnerable!

I instantly observed that the massage therapy, or energy healing, connected with old emotions and how a simple pressure point could trigger an unrelated memory. I had to remind myself that I was 'in the now'.

Then I reflected that as a female, I am used to being treated like an object. Unfortunately that is how society creates us. Now I have to "deprogram" my relationship with men. In my book, Sexcapades: Lessons in Sex Ed, I describe how each partner I had helped me learn a lesson, or two. I also recognize a pattern that I seem to have learned . Society assumes women are objects, and for a long time, I allowed myself to be treated this way. I had to learn the difference between lust and love. Since I have begun practicing not identifying with my body as much, I have felt empowered to be comfortable and not care what I wear. It is pitiful that because I wore yoga pants to feel relaxed, men gawked at me.

I know that with the #Metoo movement, the voice of women has grown significantly, and as a feminist I support women 100%. But as these men stared at my yoga pants booty, I was reminded that I had a great experience with my Massage Therapist, and recalled that not all men are 'pigs'. So here is a sincere "Thank You" to all the men who have not taken advantage of me or any other woman. In a time of Women's Rights revolution, it is easy to forget the good guys, but let's give a shout out to those men who stand with us in the battle for gender equality.

Sort:  

Congratulations @phoebeglen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54