Would you choose money over love?

in #love6 years ago (edited)

I think the answer to this question should be pretty obvious for most people. I’d choose love without any hesitation whatsoever if I was ever forced to make that choice. Most of you would probably say the same. But would it be the same if you were already living in wealth and you’d have to give it all up to be with the love of your life? I say I’d still choose love because I know what real love is like and I would never be happy with anything but that. Do you think you could be happy with lots of money if you’d have to give up your true love?

Source

An English princess was forced to make this choice in the 1950s. Her and her lover’s story is depicted in The Crown Tv show which I watched on Netflix the other night. It is based on true events so their story and the struggle they had to endure are all based on true events. They were a couple who is truly in love, Margaret referred to Captain Townsend as the love of her life. They fell in love when she was 22 and Townsend was 15 years her senior. She wanted to be with him forever and marry him, and yet she still gave him up when she was forced to choose. Why did she make that choice? I was shocked, I would have thought if he was her true and only love, she’d give all the money in the world to be with him. But she did not, and that made me wonder and interested in the topic so I did some research on the former couple. I thought maybe if I find out more about them I can understand why she chose power and money instead of love. She was forbidden to marry Townsend because he was a divorced man. There was no way the Church would have allowed her to marry him as marriage is sacred and lasts until one of the spouses dies. When Margaret was 23 years old the agreement was reached that she would be able to marry him when she’s 25, as she could then do as she pleases and wouldn’t need the queen’s approval anymore. But during those two years he would live in Belgium and they wouldn’t see each other at all. They lived and waited for the two years to be over so they can finally be together. After the 2 years Townsend came back to England. But their marriage was not to be. She was told that if they were to marry, she and any children from their marriage would have to be removed out of the line of succession to the throne and they would only be allowed to have a civil wedding of course as Townsend was divorced. So she decided to break off the relationship. Townsend even wrote up Margaret’s statement to the public in which she stated that she couldn’t marry him because she needs to honour the church. He didn’t question her decision as he knew he couldn’t compete with what the monarchy had to offer her. But I beg to differ, is love not the most special thing you can get in life?

What’s more, the TV show went on showing Margaret as being really unhappy for quite a few years after their break up. Townsend ended up marrying a 19 year old girl who was a carbon copy of Margaret. She married a photographer of the royal family, had 2 children with him but they divorced after 18 years.

What would you choose if you were forced to make such a decision: power and money or love? I’m still standing by what I said; I would not hesitate and choose love over anything else. She could have had a happy life if she did what her heart was telling her to.

Sort:  

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007

Keep it up!
All the best!

First Follow for 3 hours | Send a minimum transaction 0.100 steem/SBD with post URL in memo | Your post gets resteemed | A post can only be resteemed once!

100% upvoted

I don't think money brings happiness at the long term, it might feel like it will, but its not

Yes I totally agree!

I think the love is better ;)

I think so too :)

Congratulations @peterveronika, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2514 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2743.93. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

LOVE comes first

Totally agree :)

yes, nothing greater than love!😀

Love is the first choice...

Nice article.. I just upvoted it...
U can plz visit my walls too everybody and upvote my new posts
https://steemit.com/act/@gprince/beautiful-art-and-colour-20171216t23556704z

https://steemit.com/photography/@gprince/black-white-game-screenshot-challenge-day-1-6-20171215t2113071z

https://steemit.com/photography/@gprince/black-white-game-screenshots-challenge-day-2-6-20171216t31218863z

Or visit my blog @gprince and upvote any article u find interest in

Love u guys.. Am just a new Steemanian, a new blogger

Love is the Highest Vibration, There is no money without love.. energy ... energy

Love over money every time! love is lasting and money is fleeting , here today and gone tomorrow.

i think you think way too fucking much....lol

What do you mean?

would you choose money over love...is it that simple ?...one over the other?
thats what i mean...is it that simple i ask?

This article was mostly about the princess, her story and the choice she made caught my attention. Because of it came the question, I wanted to see other people's opinion about the subject

I choose both.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43