WE SHOULD BE OUR BROTHERS' KEEPER

in #love6 years ago (edited)

logo.png

Picture source

There's so much happening around these days. Many people don't care about what their fellow men are going through. Everyone's involved in the rat race and have a little or no time to think about the situation of their neighbour. It shouldn't be the case. We should be on the lookout for one another irrespective of how busy our lives and schedules are. It's what we were meant to do. The statement comes to mind when the Lord asked Cain about his brother's whereabouts. His reply was what some of us will also give today. "I'm I my brother's keeper?"

Now you shouldn't get it wrong. I'm not trying to play perfect. I have my flaws and maybe I'm in no position to give an advice. It's just something that came to my mind very recently.

I remember when I came into the Steemit platform. I would have given up very easily if not for the support I had from some group of people, they kept me going when everything felt like it wasn't working.

I remember how my blog got notice by some group of Nigerian curators. I was getting some good upvotes frequently even though the price wasn't very encouraging back then. It was those support that got me going and kept me motivated to keep being the person that I am. I will never forget @gbenga, who didn't needs me to seek him out before vouching for my works to be curated. I'll be for a long time indebted to him, as long as I remain on the Steemit blockchain.

Also, there was one guy on the platform who several thousands of people were looking up to for encouragement, support and motivation. He was and still is @surpassinggoogle.

That was when @surpassinggoogle still had delegation from steemit and the man was working tirelessly to see that everyone got a bit of motivation from him no matter how little. Just a comment on his blog then and you get some good upvotes. It was like that and people kept coming to him, gushing out their love and support and that's as far as it went.

Now months later, things have changed. It makes me see humans for who they are, some of them actually. Human love is fickle. People are only out for what they can get from others. Just take a look at these two individuals that I mentioned; @gbenga and @surpassinggoogle. These people, when they had the power, went out to help others but immediately they got those powers withdrawn from them, everyone left them. Go to their blogs and compare and contrast with over a year ago, you'd see fake love. The hundreds and thousands of comments have disappeared. People are no longer concerned. This shouldn't be the case.

We should be altruistic in our dealings with our fellow man. Isn't that what was commanded? Just a little bit of care, is that asking too much? Just try in one way or the other to ensure that your fellow man has a smile on his face, even if for some seconds, all in a brief moment. It could mean so much, just like Michael Jackson said. Let's make the world a better place. It begins with you, your little input, it would go a long way in making sure that someone sees another day.

My heart goes out to @surpassinggoogle at this moment. He needs our support, badly so.

Think about this.

@penauthor writes

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78