LOVE FELL FROM A MANGO TREE

in #love6 years ago

IMG_20180110_202103.jpg

One day love happened. We were on a mango tree ,killing sugar ants and our feets, climbing high above the litters of greenry. Well, you did most of the climbing whilst I clung to the tree like a toddler to his mother's breast, hoping I never fell.

"C'mon", you said with the brightest of smiles, "there is nothing to be afraid of, trust me."

For some reason it made much sense --trusting you--and I did with my whole heart because you were my bestfriend. Or maybe it was the look in your eyes--the excitement that drew me to you. You were the only thing that could measure up to my love for beans and bread, which I did share with you no matter how much you begged.

So I swallowed deep my anxiety, with my eyelids shut tight whilst I followed your tiny voice. You sounded just like a plate of jollof rice, with a chilled bottle of fanta beside. Yes, I remember so well because I was hungry that day. I almost lost my footings whilst painting pictures of your voice in my head and stomach . Love couldn't have had a better meaning in those moments beside you. It felt like my father's hug and my mother's cooking whenever you came around to play.

We sat on the highest branch of that mango tree. I held you tight as I did my mum on a stormy night. You laughed and giggled. It was obvious--you enjoyed playing with my feelings, but I couldn't imagine throwing a tantrum at that point and losing my balance. Thus I swallowed my pride, smiling sheepishly whilst you teased.

'I like you Danny' you said.

You caught me offguard.

I pretended not hearing the first time but you pressed even further.

'I am not understanding chichi'

'I like you joor',you poked my side. And you knew I tickle a lot. But still I was confused. Why did you have to say it--that you liked me, we already knew, right? We were friends. I remembered thinking then about what my elder brother said--that once a girl said she liked you,you became her boyfriend automatically. But wasn't an adult? I still had more pressing things like my table-soccer competition. No, I wasn't ready for that kind of commitment. For christ's sake, I was just nine, I had my whole life of not liking girls ahead of me.

'I am not understanding ChiChi' I denied once more, 'what do you mean you like me?"

'I like you now...like mummy and daddy'

'Ah'

'ssh! why are you now shouting'

'it is bad' I replied.

'who said it's bad?'

For a second I was reluctant to answer. "We are not mummy and daddy," that was the closest that came to mind.

"Ehn, all the girls in my class have boyfriends. Even Sade that is not fine. Why can't I have one too?!"

"They will all go to hell fire"

"There is no hell fire Danny"

"Who told you that?!"

"My daddy!"

"Your daddy does not know anything"

"You better shut up before I push you now"

Well easy there...I thought. No need getting all physical.

We went on and on for God knows how long. We never agreed whether hell existed or not, but we did agree that I was going to be your boyfriend, out of pressure, but on my terms.

"First," I said, clearing my voice,"no kissing, I don't like spit"

"Why?!" you cried.

"Because I dont like spit"

"But Jenny kisses Chukwudi, why can't I kiss you?"

"I dunno..."

"That's not fair"

"Okay okay okay," I knew I would give in eventually, "but just one"

"Yay!"

"Stop shouting!"

"Okay sorry," you said, "so...I can kiss you now...?"

"I don't know...my daddy might be watching"

You laughed. "Daddy's pet"

"No I am not!"

"Yes you are. That's why you can't kiss me"

"Er...is it your smelly mouth I want to kiss? Have you brushed your teeth?

"You can't talk to me like that Danny. I am a lady and your girlfriend and I demand some respect!"

"Now you sound like your mummy"

"How does my mummy sound?!"

"Like an alarm clock"

"Ah! I will tell her, you will see," then you started to climb.

It was hard for me to admit that I couldn't move an inch because of my fright, but I held firm to my pride this time. Hopefully my dad will come looking for me and find me here, I thought. I wasn't going to let you take advantage of the situation this time. You liked manipulating me, but I wasn't going to give in this time I told myself.

"You won't tell me sorry now." I know I had won the moment you said that and I kept on with my act until I heard a branch crack and you free-falling to the ground.

"ChiChi!" I leaped forward only to restrain myself. My heart pounding in my chest as I climbed down the tree to be welcomed by a crowd of strangers.

'what happened?! Is she okay?!' I asked myself.

Not too long my mother emerged from nowhere. The look on her face terrified me more than what she was about to do to me.

"W-what were you doing? How did this happen?!" she asked. But I wasn't given the luxury of time to reply. Before I could think of anything reasonable to say, I had a hot slap resting firmly on my face. A few persons tried to stop her from what they tagged as murder. "You have killed me this boy!" she said repeatedly as she cried and rolled on the floor. "What have I done?" I asked myself, "is ChiChi alright?"

Your elder brother ,chima and a friend of his were instructed by your parents who showed up not too long to take me home. The look on their faces only worried even more. I wanted to resist; I wanted to know what had actually happened. I heard people die. I couldn't make sense of that then. I only knew it happened to really old people, atleast that's what I was told when I couldn't see grandpa no more.

The house was silent for days and no one cared to pay me any attention. My mother in particular took it upon herself to avoid me. My name wasn't mentions for days. It took me weeks to muster the courage to ask my dad what actually happened?

"Son," he said with his baritone voice, "ChiChi has gone to Lagos to treat herself."

I didn't know how I felt exactly about that news.

"Did she break her leg?" I asked.

"Yes son, but she will be alright," and that was all he said to me.

Years and years after,you never came back.

For some reason I was never allowed to visit your compound until we moved to Owerri. And for some reason your name and memory escaped my mind until now. So I am guessing you never really made it to Lagos or anywhere for that matter, but I still cannot bring myself into accept that you died that day. So I say till we meet again my darling Chichi, I owe you a kiss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59162.63
ETH 2534.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47