Nikhil and Kristy - We meet

in #love6 years ago

It was January 2017 and I was excited for a new adventure that I was about to go on. I was about to start my Globekick program, where I would stay in a different country each month. It was supposed to be Valencia, Spain in February, Lisbon, Portugal in March and Bordeaux.

I had sold everything that I had and terminated the lease agreement with my apartment. As I would be travelling in Europe for three months I dint see the need to have an apartment and put all of my things in 5x7 storage and a carry on backpack. I had my tickets booked and everything seemed to in place.

I told my manager that I will be working from Europe and he was cool with it. As I was meeting my friends at work, before my trip to Europe.Julie, a really good friend of mine at work asks me if I can meet her friend who would be the future project manager of our team so that she can get more insights before officially joining our team.

I meet Julie and her friend Kristy and five minutes into the conversation we come to a conclusion that Kristy will be working on project that is related to us but not our project. I then tell Julie and Kristy about my trip to Europe and Julie was asking me all the logistic questions, about what I did with my apartment etc. It was after this meeting that I became friends with Kristy on facebook.

That weekend I go to Chicago to drop some things off at my friends house and at my sisters house as I was supposed to fly from OHare to Valencia. I go to my friends house, Srikanth on Friday to drop some of my stuff at his place. We have a beer that night and the next morning when I wake up. I get a text from my employer asking if I am still in the country. I call him and I find out that the US government has put up a travel ban on 7 countries but a lot of people coming into the US were facing problems and that it is not a good time for me leave, as it might jeopardize the process of me coming back to the States even though I had all the right papers.

I was devastated, I had been really excited for this trip. I call Globekick and I let them know that I will not be able to make it. They said that they understand and that I can join their future programs. However as they say everything happens for a reason. A lot of other friends have offered me help if I wanted to crash at their place. A friend of mine Inderpreet who just bought a house offered me her basement so that I can stay their till I can figure things out. I get on with my life.

Come June 2017 it is the international day of yoga. I was introduced to yoga by mom when I was a kid. After taking a break from yoga for almost like 10 years, I started doing yoga from 2015. I saw a post on facebook that there is an event where 3000 people will be doing yoga in downtown Indy(Indianapolis) at the monumental circle and Kristy is going to that. I like her post on facebook.

On Summer Solstice June 21, 2017 I go to downtown after work with my yoga mat and I run into Kristy, who is with her friend Anna and she takes this picture

41.jpg

It is almost an year now. I am currently in India as my work visa in the US has expired and my extension was not approved. We are now applying for our K1 visa next week

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75