Meeting your soulmate in a virtual fantasy world - is that possible?

in #love8 years ago (edited)

I've always played videogames. As I mentioned in my introduction post yesterday, I started to discover video games in the late 80's, when my dad came home with a Nintendo 8 bit. It was an amazing feeling to connect a console to a TV. 

It was  revolutionary back then. The years past by, and during those years, more consoles was bought to my childhood home; Super Nintendo, Nintendo 64, Game Boy etc. Me and my oldest brother had a lot of fun together playing back then. In the late 2008, my brother came to me for a visit. He had brought a trial code to a game called World of Warcraft, a roleplaying game online. A virtual fantasy world.

I gave the game a try. My first character was a human mage, and I started in a idyllic forest. The game felt so magical, and I ended up playing that game for a lot of years.

But I came to a point, that I wanted something new, something different. I knew I really loved to play online with other people, so I started to search online what kind of other games that was out there.

I discovered that there was a new game out there, with a really big title. It was called Final Fantasy XIV.

I bought the game, and gave it a try. I was so thrilled! I entered an even more magical world than the one in World of Warcraft. I also ended up joining a community in the game, which is called FC ( Free Company) or guild in a lot of other games.

                  

  

It was in this game I became to discover something new, something different that I've never experienced before in a game; role-playing. 

Role-playing came naturally in that FC, since a lot of members in that community, seemed to have a natural feel for that. 

I started of smoothly with some emotes and some sentences, learned how to steer your character into slow walk and so on.

I tried to find clothes ingame that would fit every situation. Everyday clothes for walking in the cities, dresses for special events and so on.

One day I was standing in a small city in-game, I felt bored and tired. I really didn't know what to do that evening. 

I encountered one of my community members, a female character, looked like the person didnt have anything to do either, so we started to talk and present each other. It turned up that it was a guy behind the screen. 

We did some dungeons together and started to hang out ingame. He was always so friendly and helpful. 

We were discovering the virtual world, killed bosses or just hanging out in our roleplaying world. He then changed his female character to a male one. He was a healer and I was a dps (damage dealer). 

I started to have feelings for this man.  Everytime he logged in I felt butterflies in my stomach. 

We talked a lot. We discovered that we have the same interests, view on life and future, same kind of humor and so on. It was an amazing feeling. We did kissing-emotes to eachother and the tension between us grew stronger.

We started to talk with each other on Skype, without camera, just voice.

It was just one problem, I lived in Sweden and he lived in Lithuania. I will come back to this later.

One day he proposed to me in-game. Of course it wasn't a real proposal, but for an in-game wedding ceremony.

The day he proposed to me in-game I sat behind him on his birdlike mount. He said to me "Close your eyes and when you hear this sound", and an in-game-beep was heard "When you hear that, then you can open your eyes". 

So I was sitting with my eyes covered by my hands in real life and waited patiently for that sound to show up. Suddenly it came, and I opened my eyes. He had been taking me to a waterfall, and he fell on his knees. He presented a romantic poem and then asked me if I wanted to marry him. I said yes:)

We got married in-game, and I think that the other members of our community knew how we felt in real life, for each other. I think it was quite clear:)

One day we decided to see each other in real life. A date was set. I was so nervous. I was scared of flying and I was nervous to meet him. I took a long shower, fixed my makeup with my shaky hands, packed a suitcase and started to prepare for the trip to Lithuania.

It was nerve wracking!

I remember I stepped out from the plane and started to walk to the entrance of the airport in Lithuania. I felt nervous, sweaty and excited. And there he was, smiling. Oh, he was the most beautiful thing in the whole wide world.

I ran to him, hugged him and gave him a long kiss. It was like we had known each other for our whole life. It was like magical electricity flying through our bodies. It was an amazing feeling.

This picture is taken the first time we met. Two lovebeards <3 

We had a long-distance-relationship for a while, we managed it even if it was hard. And now we are planning to get married in real life:)

So if you can meet someone in a virtual fantasy world? Yes you can!

This was a short story how I met my soulmate in life. Please click follow for more blogs from me:) I'm planning to do a blog how I discovered cryptocurrency. Stay tuned for that:)

Hugs from me to you!



Sort:  

That is possibly the most unique story I've heard of how two people met. Following and looking forward to more.

Fantastic! I really liked reading your story it was great and I wish you both tons of happiness and love forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49