Creative Date #22 House Hunting

in #love6 years ago

people-2593093_960_720.jpg

Creative Date #22 From my book entitled 101 Creative Dates: ideas, tips, and personal experience from the life of a hopeless romantic (book link at the bottom)

House Hunting

new-home-1682331_960_720.jpg

One of my hobbies is to drive around on an early-evening weekday or a Saturday morning and visit the new-build neighborhoods.

The reason I like it so much is probably because I’m a dreamer—right now I live in an old townhome, and I can’t wait to buy a single-family residence. I enjoy looking at all the different floor plans and upgrades; there are so many amazing options out there. Every once in a while, there will be a super fancy new neighborhood with enormous estates/mansions that are even more fun to explore. Probably because I’ll realistically never end up in one of those, but hey, a guy can dream, right?

home-1682316_960_720.jpg

This would be a fun date to do even if you are not in the market to buy a new home. And the houses don’t have to be brand new builds; you could find an old mansion for sale and go to the open house, tour some tiny houses, or whatever peaks your interest. So if you’re looking for something to do on the weekend, grab a date and go look at some houses!

What you need for this date:

open-house-2328984_960_720.jpg

All you need to make this date happen is some housing developments to explore, open houses to investigate, etc. You may want to combine this with another date idea like a picnic beforehand or something like that.

My experience with this date:

Several years ago I took a girl on a date down to the Tucson, AZ area. They were having an event where a new development of mansions was open for touring. We drove down there and explored all of the amazingly huge homes. It was a super fun experience. It didn’t even matter that I wasn’t in the market at the time; I couldn’t afford those houses if I was looking to buy.

new-home-1540871_960_720.jpg

More recently I’ve gone around with my friend and his wife as they’ve been house hunting, and explored every type of home from the small and bland to the enormous and immaculate. I love seeing all the different styles and sizes . . . until I remember how I bought my townhome at the peak of the market and it’s just barely worth more than I owe on it. That reminder sucks, big time. Even more so knowing that same friend bought a unit in my complex at the bottom of the market. He’s got like 100k equity now. Score for him, depression for me. In fact, I think I actually threw up a little bit in my mouth just thinking about it. Kidding.

You can find the book here: https://amzn.to/2HEtSQw

***All pictures are not my original work and are royalty and commercial free from Pixabay. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80