Humongous fungus among us: An ode to our fungal kin

in #love7 years ago

IMG_0218.jpg
Morels (morchella esculenta) found near home

Many of today’s ecological, neurological, immunological and psychological conditions can be greatly improved by fungi.

In the quiet of the cedar cabin on a snowy day, I’m brought back to past moments in my life. Prior to landing on the homestead when I wasn’t caring for animals, putting away food, building an edible forest garden / food forest, fulfilling grants, maintaining buildings or owning cars I spent most of my creative energy dreaming about and manifesting less tangible things. Like drawings and poems and such that helped explore my pondering of the interconnectedness of all things and my place amongst it all.

I got out an old journal and revived an ode I wrote to fungi. The love and respect I have for fungi is constantly growing, and I needed a way to express my appreciation. It was written when I was really tuned in with creativity and intuition and this piece effortlessly flowed through me in short order. Perhaps even resonating and inspiring me now more than ever. I’ve only ever shared it with a few folks, and, and am happy to share it with ya’ll on steemit. Hope you enjoy it!

IMG_5020.jpg
A wood ear specimen (Auricularia auricula-judae)

Eternally ephemeral myceliated fungi
Hyphae in the ground, sending spores to the sky
Playing a vital role as primary decomposer
Bringing life to death, the cycle now has closure
Unable to produce it’s food through photosynthesis
Instead choosing the path of living in symbiosis
Encompassed by the mushroom, molds and yeasts
Feeding of organic matter vegetable or beast
Cycles of production and consumption kept on tract
By the oft forgotten fungi

Humongous fungus among us
Sporulating chrysalis
Phoenix rising metamorphosis

Marvelous mycological mycelium intelligence
Is demonstrated through the communication manifest
Information shared via mycelium community
Connecting ecosystem, bringing about unity
Distributing the surplus, sharing in the wealth
Myriad functions of fungi supporting the health
Magical mycelium exudes and excretes
Acids and enzymes for needs to meet
Mycorrhizal relations between fungi and plants, supports roots to grow, gives life a change
It’s the fungi that keeps us alive

Humongous fungus among us
Sporulating chrysalis
Phoenix rising metamorphosis

Sporulating fungi known as basidiomytes
Replicate themselves using spores that fly like kites
When the condition arise, DNA does activate
Hyphae start to grow seeking a mate
The capacity to activate their spores when the time is right
Able to withstand heat or cold or a space flight
Is part of the magic adaptation and resiliency
That sets the fungal kingdom apart from the others that be
When the hyphae meet, mycelium grows underground
Supporting fruiting bodies, mushroom abound
The fruit contains the spores and the cycles continues

Humongous fungus among us
Sporulating chrysalis
Phoenix rising metamorphosis

Consciously connected communities of mycelium
Bringing ecosystems together as one
The underground network not dependant on the sun
Finishes the cycle that the sun has begun
Not to mention things we use and need
Like bread wine and miso, penicillin and yeast
Without the fungi where would we be?
Without the forests unable to breather
Weaving the web we feel among us
Blessings to the fungal kingdom

IMG_5029.jpg
Various species of lichen, which is actually symbiotic union of fungi and algae.

Hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it.

What inspires you in the quiet of winter?

P.S. I just got a mandolin and am working on putting it to music.

Sort:  

I love moral mushrooms. They are a special treat every spring. I enjoyed your post. Keep them coming.

Great ode, I loved it,so much we owe in life to fungi and mycelium. I'm a big fan of Paul Stamets. If you don't know @dber on here but you should check him out, he has written some awesome pieces on fungi, his attention to detail is great. looking forward to hearing it along with your mandolin.

Yessss The King Paul!!
Thanks for the tip on @dber.. following him now!

...mandolin sounds coming soon... ;)

Truly interesting creatures.

Thats one great poem...will you post a video when you've added mandolin music?

sure will. Just figuring it out and practicing it.

posting that video in a little bit here just as a heads up ;)

Good stuff, in so many ways. There is sure a lot going on with the old fungi. You are probably aware of the work of Paul Stamets. He has made some mind blowing discoveries about mushrooms. Thanks.

he certainly has done a lot. he may be one of the most influencial humans that i know of with the was he's bridging worlds and the benefits of fungi that he is proving through scientific study. He should be our president...

Now there's an idea. I think that you are right - Paul Stamets for President...

Dear @mountainjewel. Thank you for this post. I am getting very interested about fungi, especially the kings and queens like reishi, chagea, and lions mane, for everyday energysing and health. As so many here in the comments I listened a lot to Paul Stamets in the last months and on my way to get a better informed mycologist and fungi foragerr. I am keenly looking forward to your next fugi post!

Awesome! Kings and queens indeed! I miss chaga, I used to harvest it back when I lived in Canada, but luckily we have lion's mane and reishi growing wild here too. Best of luck on the mycological journey.

Hey. I just went into a bit of research about growing reishi, chaga and lions mane at home. Chaga is a bit complicated, as you need birch trees and quite some time. But reishi and lions amne are super easy to grow. Maybe I will get into this for our family medicine supply...

Let me know how they this goes. We have only innoculated shiitake so far but will keep expanding,.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49