Hank octopus custom made Engagement Ring box

in #love7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians, check this custom engagement ring box I built for Disney fans from Canada and published on my blog here http://themodelmaker.net/hank-octopus-engagement-ring-box/

It is based on Hank octopus from Pixar animation Finding Dory, sequel to Finding Nemo from 2003.

I sculpted this character digitally and 3d printed with ABS on my 3d printer. It helped to keep the figure symmetrical, plan the hidden compartment and have the whole figure durable.. I still combine both digital and hand sculpting on every project, mixing the techniques and choosing the best for desired results.

I designed and printed the whole character in 2 pieces, printed and sanded to get the smooth finish and remove the lines of layering typical for 3d printing. I chose ABS as it is easier and faster to sand. I then applied texture painting dots with thick nail lacquer. I used heat gun to soften the plastic and bend arms and make Hank little less symmetrical. Client gave me the sketch where he imagined front arms to form heart shape, I liked this touch very much and incorporated it in the sculpt.

The suckers were added by hand because adding them digitally would take lots of time, then sanding around them to get smooth finish would probably take days. It was easier to form tens of little balls with green stuff (2 part epoxy putty) and stick them to smooth arms, flatten it with finger and push little dot with sculpting tool. It was easier, faster, produced better result and higher quality surface finish and details. Choose the right tool and process to do the job, not everything is worth 3d printing. It is good to have digital and traditional sculpting skills in your bag of tricks.

The project turned to be success, I enjoyed building the figure and I hope you liked this short presentation. Feel free to support me with your votes and resteems and give me feedback in the comments. If you have an idea you would like to seen as a custom figure, send me a question on email or in comment here. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

This is the third post I see from you and I finally decided to drop you a comment:

Your work is absolutely stunning. I do a lot of digital work but I cannot even imagine how difficult it must be to do 3D models. I guess a 3D-printer helps in that regard but you still need to visualize where to cut what.

Really awesome work!

Thanks to your youtube tutorial i was able to add pictures with links to my previous posts! Thank you for that, it was easy to follow and gives extra value to my post. Looking forward to learn more from you.

Thank you. Its getting easier with each model but what I really enjoyed the most was the process: idea with question, can i do it? -> figure it out -> building -> few days of satisfaction with answer yes i can-> repeat :) each project was like course at school at the begining. If you do 3d work, 3d printer is very helpful but i still like to learn traditional sculpting. My wednesday figure sculpting tonight.
I watched most of your youtube videos about steemit and different tools while sanding another piece. Your channel is the best source of information about this ecosystem. Thank you for all work you put into it.

Very nice work! Thanks for sharing the process, that's the best part of this post. It takes a smart crafter to combine all the techniques, mediums, and methods you did here to achieve the desired result. I learned some good tips from what you shared. Thanks.

Thanks. I am happy to hear that. Yes, When, I get new tool, I want to do everything with it, but after a while, I start choosing the most efficient way I know.

Congratulations @mitchhunter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Stunning art! Thanx for showing your skills to the Steemit community!

Thanks! Check out my more recent posts.

I will man!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @mitchhunter
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Amazing job, how to downloaded a 3d model?

I didnt download it, i sculpted it from scratch in little program Sculptris

Liiiiiiiit....... 🔥

First on instagram NOW I am following you here love the octo they should use iT in the Disney on ICE parade Steem on x

Thanks for following me there and now here. They used this ring box somewhere at Disneyland during proposal I guess.

Just amazing! Hank is my favorite FD character, and you totally captured him!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50