What I have learned about love in quotes from famous people

in #love7 years ago

StockSnap_0S0H20NG4K.jpg

  1. “Immature love says: 'I love you because I need you.' Mature love says 'I need you because I love you.”
    ― Erich Fromm
    I have heard the question "Why do you love me?" many times. It has always been hard to answer, because if you need a reason to love someone what happens if the reason is gone one day. True love does not come from one's needs, the person next to us is not obligated in any way to fulfill the blank spaces inside our own self.
    2.“Love never dies a natural death. It dies because we don't know how to replenish its source. It dies of blindness and errors and betrayals. It dies of illness and wounds; it dies of weariness, of witherings, of tarnishings.”
    ― Anaïs Nin
    After a break up I was sitting on my balcony, reflecting on the relationship which seemed so promising at the beginning and ended in a tragic way. I ended the relationship, but still, I could not believe that the love we shared was gone. Then it hit me. The love was not gone on its own. I was stupid to think that once you meet someone and you fall in love things will go on their "natural" way and we will live happily ever after. I have found the hard way that love is an effort.If a flower in a pot can't survive without care what on Earth made me think that love will.
    3.“We love the things we love for what they are.”
    ― Robert Frost
    To love someone means that you are able to see them clearly. You know their flaws, their weaknesses, but still, you can't imagine life without them.
Sort:  

I really like these quotes and they are so true. Love due to need leads to codependency. Love takes work. You love someone for who they uniquely are. All good points to ponder!

Thanks for your comment!

If you love something you can let it go. If you can't let it go it's something other than love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64