❣️ Love Yourself 💌

in #love6 years ago (edited)

Author’s Note:

Sometimes, because we have been with our 'other halves' for a long time, we think that we still give them the love they deserve. We often fall short but we think we're giving too much. We might commit a lot of mistakes and shortcomings to our partners but it doesn't mean that we can not make amendments. We are called partners because we have the obligation to support each other in everything. Where one fails, the other one must compensate. When one becomes weak the other must give strength. Loving someone and having a family is not easy at all. You will sacrifice a lot and you will give more than you think you should. We need to be fair to our partner so let's give their love JUSTICE.

Hi Guys! This is my first story here in Steemit. I hope you’ll like it and learn a little from it. Thanks.

LOVE YOURSELF

couple-kissing.jpg

Image Source

They say erotic love is easy to lose. After a while, couples become just like friends. The warmth of love as well as the desires of one another relent in time. Thus, many couples now come to divorce because of their love going from 'blind' to 'bland'. I didn't know that all of these were true. I thought they were just hearsays or perhaps just excuses from playboys and flirters. I didn't believe them, I really didn't until....

"Love, won't you have dinner before bed? I've cooked your favorite." My chubby wife, Tricia, smiled, but I just gave her a quick glance.
"I'm not hungry," I said as I pulled off my coat. She readily took it and hung it behind the door.
"But love, I haven't had dinner. I waited for you." I absentmindedly looked at my watch and I realized that it was almost midnight. I was actually hungry, but I didn't understand why I lost my appetite upon getting home. Perhaps, I was annoyed by her appearance.
"Why didn't you eat dinner yourself? Do I have the cauldron?!" I glanced at her. She stepped back a little bit because of my behavior, but I did not care. I immediately entered the room and laid down on the bed. It's been 10 years since I married my beloved girl. Now, we have six year-old twins. I don't know what happened to me in this past few months. I'm often hot-headed nowadays, especially at home, perhaps due to being overworked.

I do not know but I long for the girl whom I was crazy for, when I was years younger. That sexy body that drives me crazy whenever she walks towards me. Those tantalizing eyes that make me forget my sanity. Those kissable lips that I crave to kiss. Oh Damn! That was Tricia but now, she's not that woman anymore.

I don't know why I keep on comparing her to my beautiful colleagues. I don't want it but… but I can't help it! I'm the worst man that ever lived! I know that! How can I do this to my wife? I even imagine a different person whenever were making love! I hate myself! I'm a great sinner and I don't want it, but I can't help it. Oh someone save me please.

TRICIA's Point-Of-View

lonely-girl-near-window-thinking-about-something-sad-woman-looking-the-rain-falling-through-a-window-at-home_1391-429.jpg
Image Source

I don't know how or why he changed so much. He's not the man that I loved before. He's so rough and he's always mad at me. I'm trying my best to be a perfect wife for him.
I've been busy taking care of him and my sons! I've been busy with housekeeping all the time. I can't even take care of myself anymore.

I never asked him to help me because I know that he's also tired because he’s our only provider and I don't want to be a burden to him. What I don't understand is, why I have become like a heavy burden now. I can't see those eyes anymore, those caring eyes, those sweet smiles and I can't even feel his warm hugs. He's a different person now.

Until One day…

relationship-couple-argue-fighting-sunset-shadows-sky_credit-Shutterstock.jpg
Image Source

"I want a divorce, Trish." I was startled. I paused eating and gave him a blank stare. I felt like I just misheard what he said. "Huh?" I said with my eyebrows pulled much closer together.

"I said I want a divorce.” He repeated. “I'm sorry, but I don't love you anymore, I don't know but I cannot stay any longer." Simon was just staring at his plate while saying those words. I gripped the spoon tightly. I didn't know what to say or do. Those words were like daggers piercing my heart. But I took a deep breath and said:

"Can… Can we think about this again?" He did not answer, but I was afraid that he would lose his temper and yell at me. Again.

I mustered enough courage to ask another question.
"Then, can you please give me some time?" This time, I could not keep my voice from trembling. He did not answer again, instead he just got up and went out of the house. When he left, I could not help but cry.
So, now I know the reason why he's so cold to me. -That's because he doesn't love me anymore. I never thought that love would expire in 15 years. We have waited for five years before getting married. We were happily married for ten years! -Or maybe only I was the only one happy. I do not know when we fell out of love. I've been so busy with the twins.

SIMON’s Point-Of-View

sadman-900x599.jpg
Image Source

It's been two days since Tricia asked me to give her a month to think about the divorce. Well, I didn't say yes, but I didn't want to force her, so I just kept quiet. When I got home, I saw her waiting at the door with a weird (unusually big) smile on her face. And she was wearing a dress?

"A pink dress? Is it our twin's birthday?" I asked myself. I was sure it's not. I didn't bother to voice it out. Her dress was cute on her though.

"Have you had dinner?” she said with a sweet smile. I couldn't understand what she was up to. The atmosphere at home has changed.

"Yeah." I answered briefly, then she immediately took my coat.
"Okay." She didn't say a thing. She just headed to the kitchen to put away the food she served. I just looked at her for a moment then I entered the room. She's been showing this weird smile ever since I told her about the divorce. I also noticed that she would always fix herself and put on some perfume. And every time I go home, it seems that she deliberately dresses up beautifully. Not that I did not want her doing that. I just didn't know what she was planning.

Until one day, I had the flu. I couldn't do anything but rest at home. Tricia took care of me. Even at home, Tricia went on dressing up and putting on fragrance, and I didn’t say anything about it. After two hours of my slumber, I took my medicine and I went out of our room and peeked at what she was doing. I briefly observed in secret what my wife was doing.

I saw her polishing the floor with coconut husk in the living room while something's cooking in the kitchen and the washing machine was spinning. Tricia's sweating profusely as she multitasked. She even managed to help the twins do their assignments. -She was so busy with everything! I remembered that we had long let go of our maid and Trish has been doing all the house chores.

We were both startled when the cellphone alarm went off. I nervously went back into the room and laid back down. I didn't know why I was so anxious. It took a few minutes until I heard her footsteps again. I immediately pretended to be asleep. From the door, I smelled the fragrance of her perfume.

In my mind, I asked: "Is that Tricia or someone else entered the room? I sensed that she approached the bed, but when she stoked my forehead, I opened my eyes. I was surprised when I saw my wife. - Very beautiful and really fragrant. It seemed like she took a bath again before coming back into the room. Did she deliberately take a bath before entering? Why would she have to do that? Did she read what I was thinking about her appearance?

If she did it for me, well I was overwhelmed and I felt stupid because of what I thought and did. I should've understood her more, because she's had too much on her plate already, yet I've been expecting a lot from her. I didn't know how to react. I also didn't know what I should say.

I suddenly realized that I’d been big fool. I didn’t think that she was doing so much at home so she just looked haggard whenever I come home.

I was wrong ... I've long known that she'd been doing a lot but I didn't appreciate it. I cannot believe how selfish I had become. That was not me. I wasn't the person she used to love.

I couldn't help but pull her closer. I tightly embraced her and did not say anything. I was speechless. She was surprised though I did not feel any rejection.

"Are you okay?" She asked softly as we embraced each other.
"Yes, I'm okay now Trish. I'm okay now." Then I gently kissed her and wiped her tears on her cheeks.

unnamed.jpg
Image Source

TRISHA
I know that I did everything for our family and I did my best to be a good mother for my children. I became a nanny, a maid and a tutor but I forgot to be a wife. I forgot to take care of myself. I have forgotten that my obligation as a wife doesn't end only in cooking, laundry, cleaning and caring for our children. I was prepared for all this but because of the increasing obligations, schedules and priorities changed so I forgot that the family I have been taking care of may be ruined. -Just because I forgot to LOVE MYSELF. From now on, I promise that I will do better.

SIMON
I've been a fool, a big fool! I didn't know that I would become like this. How did I change so much? How did I forget that my wife is as precious as she was before? I forgot that my wife is a fragile woman. I am stupid, I loved myself too much and became selfish. How can I do this to a woman who was given by God? I prayed for this woman for so long but then I've been taking her for granted. I forgot that loving this woman means LOVING MYSELF. Because we are ONE.

sunset-fort-myers-beach-florida-edward-fielding-canvas-print.jpg
Image Source

MelaSpika Note:
What about you? Do you love yourself? Kindly write you comments below and click the vote button. Thanks!

Thanks for reading!!!

footnote pic.jpg

(Text edited in part by: @j-alhomestudio)

[Credits to the Author of Life]

Sort:  

Words fail me to describe this. A true story.

Thanks be to God. :)

You always tell me "marriage isn't the happy ending".

It was a great story, my sissy!

That's right girl. Because It's just the beginning of the real thing. :)

Great story! I'm glad it's got a good ending.

Yeah, love story should have happy ending. :)

You got a 3.89% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @melanicaspika!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

What an interesting story, had to read it twice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69069.39
ETH 3914.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64