Glasses shattered...In the Life: Domestic Violence Survivor Story cont'd.

in #love6 years ago

In that gloomy day there was fire in his eyes. Not rain, not tears, not cold...but heat.

As I try to quickly reverse the car to back out from his parking lot and looked back in front of me, he lifted a large 20 gallon fish tank stored at the side of home and tossed it at my car windshield. I shut my eyes real hard.

After a quick second, I opened my eyes again to see glass shattered all around me outside my car. Luckily, my windshield stayed strong and no major damaged happened to my car.

I kept driving. I drove and drove not knowing where I was going but I drove off. I speed like I never did before. As I drove, I thought about what just happened and how frightened I was with what just happened and what else could've happen had I not locked my car door before he came to my side of the car. My heart pounded so hard. I thought my heart fell and never came back up but I still felt my heart beating. I was alive.

Everything happened so fast, I was scared for my life. That was when I realized how precious and how much I loved myself. I protected myself for the first time and escaped. I was proud of myself at least for a very good minute, until my cell phone rang.

All I received was texts and voicemails of hate and inappropriate words. But those words and voicemails didn't get to me. I drove home after driving around town not knowing where I was going for almost an hour. I made sure he wasn't there. As I quickly parked the car in the driveway to hurry inside the door, my car door was stuck. My side of the car door wouldn't open.

He had damaged my car door by trying to force me out of the car earlier. I climbed to the passenger side to get out of my car. My rear-view mirror was also broken.

I knew I would hear it from my dad about the damages to the car...but I did not mind one bit, because I was safe. I was finally, for once, home safe and sound.

That lasted for a good day and a good night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95