I'm getting married next year!

in #love7 years ago

0C23C104-778F-455D-A919-896F652C834F.jpg

Yes, it's true. My amazing boyfriend of 4 years proposed to me in June 2017, and we are getting married June 2018!

No, I haven't told my parents yet. In my culture, he has to pay a dowery. I know, I know. How can you pay for a human being. It's unethical, but honestly, it's not that brides are worth a certain amount, or you are worth less/more depending on what you have. Think of it more as a token of appreciate to give to the brides family. A thank you for raising an amazing daughter, and a im sorry to take here away.

This is going to be an amazing, heart felt journey. And I would like to share it with the world. I will keep you all updated on what happens from here on out.

But for now, congratulations are in order! :D

Sort:  

Congratulations :)

There was a time in my life, when I was pretty serious with a girl... And her mother asked for a dowry. In Thailand, this is called 'Sin Sod'.

I agreed to pay a certain amount, to help her family, and the amount that was countered was ridiculous.

It ended up ruining our relationship in the end.

From what I understand now, a dowry is just a tradition-And usually families gift it back to the newlywed couple.

Best wishes, and congratulations again!

_Rob

I upvoted.
Pls follow my blog. And upvote dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54260.16
ETH 2859.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01