Brucia La Terra

in #love7 years ago

A beautiful sicilian song to start off the day.

Written by Kaballà, Nino Rota, this song is nothing less than peaceful and beautiful. I first heard this song while watching The Godfather and have been in love with it ever since.

Some nights I play this song and imagine myself somewhere in Sicily, sitting in the middle of open land surrounded by trees and beautiful flowers. Drinking the finest wine Italy has to offer and staring up to the sky wishing for nothing.

As much as I love to imagine this, the song itself is quite painful when you read the translation. A man yearning for love. Yearning for a woman. One of God's most beautiful creations is a woman some would say. Perhaps that's why the story says he took a rib from man and created a woman for us to love, cherish, and appreciate. For without a woman what is man ?

Translation to the song down below.

Brucia la Luna
Siciliano:
Brucia la luna n'cielu, E ju bruciu d'amuri
Focu ca si consuma Comu lu me cori
L'anima chianci Addulurata
Non si da paci Ma cchi mala nuttata
Lu tempu passa Ma non agghiorna
Non c'e mai suli S'idda non torna
Brucia la terra mia E abbrucia lu me cori
Cchi siti d'acqua idda E ju siti d'amuri
Acu la cantu La me canzuni
Si no c'e nuddu Ca s'a affacia A lu barcuni

Italiano:
Brucia la luna in cielo ed io, brucio damore
Fuoco che si consuma come il mio cuore
L'anima piange addolorata
Non si da pace, ma che brutta nottata
Il tempo passa ma non diventa giorno
Non c'è mai Sole se lei non torna
Brucia la terra mia e brucia il mio cuore
Che sete d' acqua lei,
ed io, sete d'amore !
A chi la canto questa canzone
Se non c'è nessuno che si affaccia al balcone ?

English translation:
The moon is burning
The moon is burning in the sky And I am burning with love
The fire that is consumed Like my heart
My soul crys Painfully
I'm not at peace What a terrible night
The time passes But there is no dawn
There is no sunshine If she doesn't return
My earth is burning And my heart is burning
What she thirsts for water I thirst for love
Who will I sing My song to
If there is no one Who shows herself On the balcony

Sort:  

I love the music he did for Fellini

good love music post @joseph thank for shearing

nice music for a night, thank you for sharing

@joseph Got a 64.66% Vote from @steem-global via @klye's Pay-4-Vote

Send any amount of STEEM or SBD Over 1.000 & Recieve a RANDOM @klye VOTE
Make sure to include the link to your post in the memo field of the transfer!
( Any amounts < 1.000 STEEM or SBD will be considered donations )
Vote power is Generated via RNG (Random Number Generator)
USE AT YOUR OWN RISK, EXPERIMENTAL SERVICE

Uhmmmn!!!
Love is a beautiful thing
A feeling that brings ecstasy when it is right and mutual
But love is wicked when you love and you're not loved back
Though it's sometimes painful, it can never be do away with. We all need to love somebody

I love this piece
Well-done @joseph

@avowal, I completely agree.

Great nice music .thanks for share.

This is wonderful, Italians are exceptionally romantic... what she thirst for water i thirst for love

@gaintshouler, that's my favorite line.

wow beautiful :)

Amazing!!!!
-cheers-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78