Photo Bio #11 - Hobbit Hole Love Story & 5yr Anniversary

in #love6 years ago (edited)

February 1st, 2013 I went on my first, long awaited, highly fantasized date with Kim. We worked together at a small factory in our home town, where we manufactured carpets for cars by Honda and Toyota. I made carpets for the Honda CR-V while Kim worked across the aisle from me, making carpets for the Honda Civic. We’d always sit at the same table in the cafeteria, and I’d always try to talk to her about anything I could think of, but often struggled to come up with topics since we didn’t actually work together that much.

One day in late January I decided I would ask Kim out for a coffee date. I had been trying to build up the confidence to ask for a while, and didn’t want to risk being turned down. It was the end of the shift, and we both were walking along the side of the machines to turn off the lights, and that’s when I went for it and asked if she’d like to grab a coffee. She said yes! I wanted to jump for joy, though reality sunk in and I realized I had about a 90 second walk beside Kim between where we were located and the front doors. I tried making small talk, but couldn’t think of anything, making for a very awkward 90 seconds. I think I remember both of us smiling and nervously laughing a bit as we walked down the ‘Green Walkway’.

Each time we’d hang out, we would get to know each other better, become stronger friends, and plan the next hang-out as soon as possible. On one of the first few dates we watched what at the time was one of her favorite movies, Lord of the Rings. She told me all about the fictional world, and how as a kid she always wished she could live in her own Hobbit Hole one day, just like the Shire in Middle-earth.

By this point I had been thinking about what I wanted to do for Kim since Valentine's Day was coming up on the 14th. A light went off on my head and I realized I could build her very own Hobbit Hole in Photoshop, and give it to her as an art poster. It was February 7th, 1 week before it would have to be finished and printed, so I got to work.

The first day I built the basic scene structure with a huge full moon, the round building that makes the Hobbit Hole, which was actually the top of a mountain I climbed in BC, some steps from a hiking trail in Niagara Falls, and some shrubs I walked past and photographed recently here in Stratford Ontario. Day 2 I moved around and blended the elements from before almost exactly how they wound up being in the end. I added some mountains, and a window and door for the building. Day 3 I added lots and lots of birds, oh yeah and some moonlit clouds with a heart hidden in them.

Day 5 I made a cape for myself to wear, and added some dialogue to the scene by trying to make it look like I’m a hobbit running up with a box of chocolates. I used a box to help pose as if I was running up stairs. Who was I running to? Well that came next on Day 6, practically the last part of the image. I asked Kim if she’d come to my apartment and pose for a picture holding a cookie tray (Since she loves to bake). It was really difficult figuring out how to ask her to model for the shot, without telling her what it was for. She was so sweet, and happy to pose with my direction.

Day 6, the image was complete, I just finished up some final touches and got Kim into her Hobbit Hole poster. By this point I had poured over 24 hours of time into the image while still working full time, in just 1 week. It hit me that this could be going way overboard for a Valentine’s Day gift, and that it could be seen as creepy. I tried to stay positive and go with my gut, hoping Kim would like it.

Day 7, Valentine’s Day was here. I had the image printed with the help of my photographer inspiration/friend Terry Manzo since the only place in town that prints photos didn’t print images the size I wanted every day of the week. I rolled it up like a poster and tied a ribbon around it like a scroll. I was ready to give it to Kim.

Kim knew I was working on a gift for her, and so it was no surprise that I had her come over to see it. The moment was here, I handed her the scroll and sat beside her as she unrolled it. Thankfully she wasn’t freaked out by all the time I put in to it, but was flattered and even said it was the best gift that she had ever received from anyone. Success!

The next day we were out for a coffee, when I asked her if she’d ‘Go steady’ with me and be my girlfriend. She said yes! That was 5 amazing years, 5 shared apartments, and a million amazing moments ago today.

I love you Kimberly! Happy 5 Years!
Sort:  

Aww man, what a wonderful story! As a LotR fan I appreciated it even more. ;)

Thanks @Derekkind! Was worth the effort. :)

Indeed it was! :)

i would hate her if she was freaked out :D great post

"Forget youuu-ou-ou-ou!" ~Cee Lo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70