MAUI NOMADS!

in #love8 years ago (edited)

Written while sipping on an almond milk latte at a quaint cafe in upcountry Maui. A little a rainy and gray this morning, but it's peaceful and offers an excuse to stay inside and get creative :)


My latte from this morning taken on my iPhone... I love when the baristas add their own personal touch.

Today I want to announce that my boyfriend @codylang and I are joining together on Steemit! The reason behind doing this is we bounce ideas off of each other really well; Cody is very creative, makes incredible videos and takes stunning photos. I'm more of a verbal, wordy person, not too great with making videos and don't really know how to work a camera unless it's on my iPhone. Cody grew up on Maui, and didn't go to a 4 year university like I did. He traveled the world instead, documented his whole trip through video and photography, and is one of the wisest and most inspiring humans I know, and even better, I get to call him my boyfriend. We will each keep our own personal accounts and write independently, but we are planning on making tons of video blogs for you guys about our life on Maui as a couple, our future travel adventures and then taking you on our travel adventures, and also relationship insight to what can make a relationship work from our point of view. Yes we are young, but so what? Who says young couples don't know anything about relationships? We are going to do our best to inspire you, and other couples around the Steemit community to make your relationship AWESOME.

Cody and I a few weeks ago staying with a friend in Kipahulu.

We have already made our first video which we posted on September 1st to our joint account @mauinomads!

We have dreams to travel the world; our first destinations being New Zealand, Australia, and Thailand, and probably more...wherever our hearts decide to take us! We are madly in love, and have a very positive, supportive, and joyous relationship; the best relationship I have ever experienced. We want to share our story, share things that we do together, share how we support each other, and share how we challenge each other. All the while chasing our dreams and living on an island :)
I'm sure there are couples out there who can relate to our story, or are looking for inspiration in their relationship. I'm moving in with Cody on October 1st, so there's a story just waiting to be written!

If you so choose to follow us on our journey, and learn more about what we have to offer, you can find us @mauinomads.

Sort:  

I have yet to meet you, but I'm excited for that day whenever it comes! You and Cody seem to be really absorbing and making the most of a beautiful connection. Your relationship is a gift to the world! <3

I have friends in Australia who have travel around Australia, New Zealand, and Thailand. There is so much to explore there. You will both have a great time traveling and sharing your adventures.

I look forward to reading more about your adventures. I think you very well may inspire others to be more adventurous too.

Steem on,
Mike

Are they on Steemit or do you know of places they absolutely demand need to be seen? :) We are always looking for direction and unique spots as we get ready to travel!

Thanks for all your comments and thoughts @etcmike!

My Australian friends live in Alice Springs, Austraila. They raised all their kids there.

We keep in touch via snail mail. Before Facebook there were post-cards :) Over the past 25 years I have gotten many post cards from them and have seen their entire family twice when they came back to the states.
They are in their late 50's and do not travel as much, it's mostly following their kids around these days.

When they went to Thailand many years ago (something like 20 years ago) they took a "junk" out to several of the islands. The pictures (film back then) were incredible.

In Australia there is Sidney, excursions to the Great Barrier Reef, and Ayer's Rock just to name a few. But those are mostly tourist locations. With the internet and Google Maps you can explore so much more than in the days when we just had atlases and maps to go by. Thinking about it now, paper copy atlases and maps seems so ancient and antiquated. At least we weren't carrying around stone tablets. Now-a-days people can carry around electronic tablets that access so much more information.

Over my lifetime I have known several people who went to New Zealand. I think it might even be better than Australia. There is so much there. Glaciers, volcanoes, and absolutely beautiful landscapes (Lord of the Rings was filmed there). Except for the glaciers, it may remind you a bit of Hawaii.

There is so much out there in the world that is at your finger tips and within reach these days. Planning is just half the fun, the rest is the experiences you gain and the memories you share. Those things last a lifetime.

Steem on,
Mike

Cool thank you for all the info! Yes, technology makes it much easier to navigate around the world :)

I think I'm most excited for New Zealand, Cody has been there once before, cycled all around the south island and raves about it. I have a friend living in Melbourne, and Cody has lots of family around Australia as well.

Always getting as many tips and destinations as possible!

I am A Follower
Found This On My homepage
Cool
Enjoy Life
Keep Steeming On

Thanks @anns you too!

Now there's two steemians that look like they are enjoying themselves... Cheers Guys!

Thank you! We really are. @codylang was the one who introduced me to Steemit so I owe him big time for bringing this platform into my life! And now we are doing it together!

I love this! Thanks for sharing and I look forward to your future posts together.

Thanks! We are excited to be working together!

You guys are cute :)

And wtf that almond milk latte looks amazing.

Age is meaningless .. being in love makes your experience meaningful and worth sharing. Fo!!owed you both! (the !! instead of ll was a typo, but I'm electing to keep it)

@full-measure It was so delicious! I added a bit of honey and cinnamon... even better!

But thank you for the follow and I love the !! instead of the l's :)

Watch out, the word quaint is cursed by the gods.

I wonder why!

I have updated in hopes we all get to see your trip to Thailand

Beautiful shots! Always happy to see your new posts. Looks like heaven on earth. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60871.89
ETH 2724.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43