A Letter to my Wife

in #love6 years ago

I was going to try to write this whole long thing to try and fight for our marriage, but honestly...I don't know what to say or do. I know I've been trying to put my emotions and thought process in this email for the last 40 minutes and counting. Constantly writing, erasing, and rewriting, trying to get the perfect words to come out perfectly. Add another 10 minutes and more erasing and I've come to the conclusion, I don't think there's such a thing as perfect in life or on this earth. I think searching for it or basing your happiness on something being "perfect", is undoubtedly setting yourself up for failure and disappointment. Especially with love. I've known from our first day of nonstop Facebook messaging, that I loved you. Back then it was a different kind of love. A new and exciting one. One that puts a twinkle in your eye, a glow in your smile, and butterflies in your gut. If things were perfect, they would have stayed that way forever, but nothing is perfect remember? Imperfection soon reared it's ugly head followed by bad decisions, and turned that love and happiness sour with hurt and lies. Over time we were able to mend our relationship and continue on through life together. Things would go so well, they would start to feel perfect again. An all too familiar feeling followed by let down and sadness, repeatedly. Five years. Five years of this dance we've laughed, loved, and cried through. You would think we had learned our lesson by now. You would think this pressure to keep things "perfect" would stop, but it hasn't. We should love each other with no conditions or expectations. Just let our love flow and forgive each other with the same quickness we used to get mad. I think we'd love our marriage, life, and each other more if we lived this way. True happiness, peace and content with life is letting go of perfection and enjoying the imperfect world and people around us, perfectly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45