Going Out of His Way To Help Another...

in #love7 years ago (edited)

My best friend did an amazing thing today. He set up a 55 gallon fish tank for my mentally ill roommate, for no other reason than that he wanted to.

My roommate is a shut-in who stays in his room almost constantly, listening to the radio. He is a formerly homeless vet with extreme issues. He lived on the street for about 40 years on and off. He has been living indoors now for 3 years. My friend learned about him and came up with this idea to give him a fish tank.

My bfriend's neighbor called him and told him that she had to get rid of the fish tank and fish right now! And this was his last chance to get it before she just tossed the whole thing in the dumpster...

Yesterday after along day of work, my BFF brought over the water sogged cabinet and tank, and gave my roommate the assignment to clean it.

Today after another long work day, he came over with all the equipment to not only set up the tank with a filter that never has to be changed but also wood so that he could stabalize the cabinet. He paid for all of this himself. It must have cost well over a hundred bucks.

He measured the cabinet and then went down to his car to cut the wood with a pocket sawsall - then he spent the next 3 hours setting the whole thing up.

He saved 2 of the lady's angel fish to give to Walter, my roommate. The other fish went back to the fish store.

Tomorrow he is coming back with chemicals to change the chlorine to decholorinated water and also he will bring an electrical strip for the heater, the filter and the lights.

IMG_3337.JPG

"Coincidentally", Walter is a Pisces. I am grateful that I got to bear witness to such an extreme act of kindness. I know, my BFF got a lot out of this unselfish giving. I had to share it. I am blessed to have people like this in my life. Thank you, God.

34168E11-54D7-46BE-AF68-14079465CD46.jpeg

Sort:  

That is a very noble thing, i am very happy if there are people who want to help each other.

My sister. Thank for resteem of my post.

I'm very grateful.

Damn what a homie... if only everyone could do one act like this a day.... problem solved

right? exactly! that's why I posted it.

My sister, i have made another art.

Beautiful gesture!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74