Love Letters Unfulfilled – A First Love That Could Never Be.

in #love5 years ago

It was just another winters tale

I was called for Army National Service at age 18 in 1944.After infantry training, I was posted to Burma and embarked on the converted luxury liner ‘Monarch of Bermuda’.

They made sure there was not much luxury to soften us. Head to Tail hammock sleeping. Smelly feet wafting stronger the nearer we got to the tropical heat of India.

The cinema was usable for film afternoons, before hammock hanging time, and hearing ‘Road to Morrocco’ brings that memorable pong/song ! - back.

Here It is – Pity it’s not in Smelly Vision.

I remember standing on a parade ground in Bombay (Mumbai now) on my 19th birthday – (November 1945) thinking what a transformation to my life in one short amazing year.

me 19th birthday india 400px.jpg

From country bumkin, that had barely travelled outside the village, to the Far East via Gibraltar, Malta, and The Suez Canal.

So, I have the army to thank for travel riches that I would never have afforded otherwise.

I left behind in Blighty my first ever steady girlfriend, and we exchanged weekly letters for several months – SWALK on the envelope – all those kind of lover’s acronym messages.

2 years is a long time for young love to be apart, and sadly it withered.

Although’ It Was Only A Winter’s Tale’ is not of that time or temperature, hearing it always takes me back to our army tent in Burmese jungle land, and the dawning aching realisation that my first love, the most impressionable strongest, romantic, emotional love of all,was not to be fulfilled.

And I would never now send a letter with BURMA on the flap!

And ever since, at this time of year I wistfully think of – ‘A Love Not Meant To Be’.

This emotional video portrays it eye moistening well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65