Take Heart : Together We Overcome

in #love4 years ago

94728168_833575353819998_5555787115045847040_n.jpg

When I was reading this verse there were a great deal of questions in my head. Here are a few of them: First, why are we commanded to take heart? Second, are not Christians spared from tribulations because they labeled themselves Christians? Lastly, what does the statement "I have overcome the world mean? As always, I had my reflections concerning these points that I would like to share.

First, why are we commanded to take heart? Is it really a need to be instructed to be strong or courageous? Isn't it not our natural response when faced with problems and challenges along this journey of life? I would say that it is a MUST for a command because sadly it is not our apparent instinctive response. Our reaction is to often get out of our head and hide into our shell of self-pity or worst to hurt ourselves and hope life at the moment would just come to an end. Additionally, it is a command because like any other rules it guides us in the right path. Not to mention, we NEED to take heart because we always forget, especially when we are caught up with insurmountable worries, doubts, and fears that are intoxicating our soul, spirit and even obviously shown in our appearance.

Second, are not Christians spared from tribulations because they labeled themselves Christians? I believe that one of the truths that everyone has consensus of is that every person ever lived on this earth is not spared from any discomfort, pain, or heartaches. We are all in the same boat. The Bible clearly states it - as clear as crystal. Having faith is not an antidote of a trouble-free life, not now and it will never be. So, I would like to remind you that if you are in discomfort, pain, or heartaches, you are not alone. You might see someone smiling, laughing at the top of his or her lungs, or even a person who cracks jokes all the time - they too have their own fair share of troubles. A pastor who preaches and a christain who worships with lifted hands have their own stories of tribulations too.

Lastly, what does the statement "I have overcome the world mean? Knowing this truth that everyone faces, it disheartens me and I know you too. It leads us to be hopeless and seems helpless in every way. However, for someone to command us to take heart and to AFFIRM that there is victory, what a relief of the soul. Yes, there is hope, yet it is not my own effort or your own doing. Yes, there is hope, but you and I need to release our grip on our strength, wisdom, possession, and knowledge that are of no guarantee could bring any bit of victory. The pronoun “I” here is the answer. It is not me, He is the MAN who died on the cross. The God who RESURRECTED who desires to tell us, “I have overcome death and what more do you think I can not overcome with you?” That makes a lot of difference between and among followers of Jesus and the non-believers. Where do we build our faith? For me, I would go for the resurrected God who proved that He has overcome the world, and so I overcome with Him.

As I was writing this, I was all the more humbled to listen to the Word of God, to act on His command, and to fully depend on Him. Now, we can say, "In this world we have tribulation, but we take heart because Jesus has overcome the world.”

Thank you for reading. I hope you are blessed.

Sort:  

Hello ielaaugust30!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46