Not a Cliche: A Need You Should Not Miss

in #love4 years ago (edited)

1590578583653.jpg

This is one of the most quoted verses by Christians (I am one of them.) when things are just unclear or beyond one’s senses and mind could ever comprehend. And so it was raised on a Facebook page “Serpent Dove.” (It’s a platform you can follow to dig deeper for treasures.)

I heard these verses so many times, even memorized, and quoted it. However, when I was asked these questions: Why did God even declare this statement? What’s the very heart of the matter? Who were / are the people being addressed to? I have answers in my head but not really clear about them.

To answer the questions raised, I couldn’t just rely on what I already know. I have to read the entire chapter – Isaiah 55.

From the very beginning of the chapter. I felt a great deal of compassion from the very heart of the One who is speaking. There are a number of invitations that if I considered myself to be invited, I didn’t belong – undeserved of all the lavishness and generosity of the host. (Make time to read yourself, and I hope you will feel the same way.) Hand in hand with the invitations, there are words that call for a response from anyone who is – thirsty, without anything to boast, and who chooses to listen diligently... to the voice of the Host. I believe that it is the answer for - What’s the very heart of the matter?

There’s more. There’s a covenant that entails eternal security with the HOLY ONE of ISRAEL. I paused and cried out to God saying, “What is man that you are mindful of him?”Aren’t you grateful that He sees the beginning and the end - the whole picture outside the frame? I was left speechless...

To answer the question - Why did God even declare this statement? Moving on, this verse, “Seek the Lord while He may be found, call upon him while He is near.” led me to the word “URGENT.” It must be an urgent call for everyone. Simply, in any gathering or celebration especially if it is hosted by a prominent person in a country, we are expected to respond (What a privilege, so we immediately confirm our attendance, right?) I bet being late will never enter your mind and surely declining is impossible. The offer of God is beyond the feast the most prominent or wealthiest person could ever offer, but why is it ignored and rejected?

The 7th verse, I believe will answer the question - Who were / are the people being addressed to? The wicked in his ways and unrighteous in his thoughts. For me, wicked and unrighteous are too heavy a load to carry – unbearable before the eyes of the Host who is ever willing to invite them for a splendid feast. Are these people only present at the time of Isaiah? I would say no, we are all wicked and unrighteous in different ways, but only because of the overwhelming compassion anchored in the love of the Host changes our identity radically. Dear followers of Jesus, write this Word in the tablet of your heart and walk it with the Host.

The most quoted verse is a call to everyone who is in need of the invitation for the great feast. It is for those who are trying so hard to prove something. It is for those who badly need help but chained with pride and arrogance. It is for those who are in the cycle of indulging themselves to things that will never satisfy them. It is for those who are constantly suppressing the truth, yet wondering in their faith. It is for... (Unending lists of people who are in need to acknowledge that there is God who is above all. The God who truly loves.)

The chapter concluded by reassuring us delight and hope. Well, it is only for those who will surrender their pride, arrogance, selfish cause, cycles of sins... to the Host. Let’s dress up for the feast of the KING. Mind you, “ For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways," declares the LORD. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts."

Thank you for reading and God bless you all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63