Standing Up Against Hate - Locally

in #love7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2932.JPG
Lafayette, CO is my favorite place I ever lived. As soon as I found out about a rally to resist hate right at the street corner I used to pass every day, I knew I had to be there.
Love, people, Love!
On one hand I was glad I had signs left over from the Women's March in Denver and other marches and protests after that. Saved me some last minute work. On the other hand it occurred to me how sad it was that I need to have signs on hand in order to resist the atmosphere of hatred that has permeated this country.
About 35 people showed up. Being a social loner often, I stood by myself in an in unoccupied part of the intersection. But I didn't feel alone. So many people driving by honked and waved and cheered. Just now I even saw a photo taken by someone who drove by us that he sent to his wife who was out of town. He wanted to let her know what an awesome loving community she lived in.
Here's me, practicing my awesomeness 😜
IMG_2933.JPG

I have plenty of friends who say protests don't matter. I firmly believe they are wrong. It's these intangibles that contributes to how it feels to live in a community on a day to day basis.

Right when I left I noticed a little boy who was holding his own hand drawn sign waving it up and down vigorously trying to send his own love out to the world. His sign had lots of superheroes on it. Mainly the Avengers, some other ones too. They were all working together to help us humans. The best thing about his sign was this message in the center. Can you see it?
IMG_2943.JPG

He looked about four years old. Precious. He was excited to tell me all about how much thought he put into making it. Finally I had to leave. But more connections were made in my community. We know we're willing to show up when it matters.
Here are a few more from today.

IMG_2938.JPGIMG_2929.JPG

Spread love. Resist hate.
Peace.

Sort:  

That's great to see @icmultitudes. I can understand why some believe that protests don't matter but they surely do when they're protesting love over hate. Particularly for the children and young people. Resteemed.

Some rays of love. Good to see.
I forgot who said it, but it goes like:
No need to fight darkness,
you just switch on the light and darkness goes away.

I like that way of looking at it!
Here's to keeping the lights on!

We have a few people in our area that have similar "hate has no home here" signs.

There are large muslim populations nearby, so there can be tensions ....even though most of these muslims are locals .....back 1-5 generations. I havent looked into it, but heard it was Henry Ford that brought the first Muslims to the area!
No, no room for Hate here!
Peace!!

Yes, those signs can be found all over. They are an organization that shares with anyone who wants one. I find it a great sign to have on hand these days.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70855.94
ETH 3844.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49