Love yourself. Or else... What´s the point?

in #love7 years ago

Some time ago I met a person ˝with a little help of my friends˝. He was going through a rough divorce, and I was there when he needed someone to stick around. Someone to help him get through his darkest hours. As time passed by, we started dating and eventually living together. Our relationship began with sadness and problems from the past. Yet, after a while turned into something beautiful and promising.

Before this romantic ˝hookup˝, I was a very well rounded person; n´sync with myself.
Or at least I wanted to believe so.
I was alone a lot but never lonely. Whenever I wanted some company, we would go out with my friends, or I would enjoy my ˝meaningful solitude˝.

portal-2035130_1920.jpg

But out of nowhere, this tiny voice from within started to get louder and louder. Telling me, I miss something. At the time I thought it was a relationship. You know, a strong man by your side to lean on or someone to walk your life with you. Who knows, maybe I just wanted to be like everyone else.
Well, it turned out that wasn´t that.

Falling in love and being in a relationship turned my life up side down. Instead of remaining at least a bit true to myself I changed completely. You wouldn´t believe how swiftly your life can turn into a golden cage.
Don´t get me wrong though; I´m still grateful for everything. I just know now, others won´t make you whole if you´re not ready for it.

e2809ctherewardforconformity0a0aisthateveryonelikesyou0a0abutyourselfe2809de28093ritamaebrown0a-default.png

That is why I believe that one of the biggest mistakes a person can make to mess up his/her life is letting go of your entity when you fall in love. I am pretty sure there are many hurtful souls out there, feeling the same. Trying to make some sense out of everything.

At the end of the day, it was my decision to go down this path, and there is absolutely no one else to blame but myself. I take full responsibility for my actions. All I´m saying is don´t fall in love just to be with somebody. Living life for others won´t bring anything else but pain, and as much as I hate cheesy statements, this one is true:

˝Learn to love yourself before you start looking for love elsewhere.˝

Simple and true? Yes!

Easy? Hell, no!

What about you? What would you do or had already done in a situation like this?

Sort:  

Congratulations @hspela! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26