A Sad Valentine

in #love7 years ago

images.pngHey, Hey, Hey! So it’s that day again; you guessed it, Valentine's day.

Who's excited? Definitely not me. It is still the only day in the year (other days I don’t even care) I remember to ask God what I did wrong to be inflicted with this chore of singledom, abi is it singlet? Whatever the case maybe, it’s still the day to celebrate LOVE (*sobs).

So, since I’m Val-less, I’m choosing to reminisce on my worst Valentine experience with Mr X. This story is probably more interesting in my head but my story goes thus:

I was in ss2 (that is, high school) and I had this guy that asked me to be his Val (Mr X). Well, he has been asking me out for over a year and although I kinda liked him, I just wasn’t going to say yes; You see, Mr X ticked off all the right boxes: nice, loving, caring, faithful and so on... BUT! I just knew it wouldn't work out. So, since it wasn’t about dating him and we could just have fun for a day (plus, I could finally have a Valentine's experience) I said YES!

Now, Mr X was a big boy and had a lot of admirers (consisting of both sex). His parents were well to do and it definitely wore off on him (Who better to be my Val?)

I was so excited, I told all my friends that he asked me and I said yes. Those ones forgot about their own “Val-lessness” and focused on mine, so they can see what Mr big boy would get for me on Val’s day.

He made matters more exciting (and worse) by always asking me what I wanted as my gift (meaning whatever I mention, he would get it). Honestly, I didn't want any thing; I just wanted to have that experience, plus I could show off to my friends (well, they were always rubbing their boyfriends in my face, so whatever).

I wasn’t as rich as he was, so finding a gift was hard. For one, I didn’t have the money and secondly, “what in this world would I buy with my lil change that this brother would like? “. After a tedious research, I decided on a very nice body spray, which I never thought I would buy because of the price (Oh well, all for love 😒).

So, it’s the d-day!!! (Not). I woke up so excited and to a very romantic and sweet text from this blessed fellow. My head almost exploded from thinking about what he had planned out for me *drools.

I went to school, came back, we talked, no mention of Val. Hmmm, maybe he would give it to me in church on Sunday.

Sunday came. Brethren, I risked my life by carrying his gift to church (imagine my mom caught me!!!), no show. He ignored me like it’s one of those days. I’m shook.

Im like, “You know what, maybe he's shy; let me give him a week” and that didn’t work too and mind you, we talked throughout that week.

So it’s over a week, and I’m thinking how do I ask this guy about my valentine gift without sounding like a long throat?

My friends were looking at me like a big disappointment and a liar.

It was so sad and embarrassing.

You know, I feel like I’m not the only person this has happened to. It happens, when you put so much hope on someone without knowing how things are at their end.

My poor first valentine day.

But you know what I did to right the wrong?

I said, “when is my dad's birthday?” Lol I kept that gift in my bag from February to April and presented it to my dad on his birthday. He was sooo happy and prayed for me for ages.

We still talked, but no mention of Valentine's day. And to think, I actually saved and starved to buy that boy a gift and he ended up a no show made me want to enter the ground.

At the end of the day, it ended on a good note; a more deserving person got my heartfelt gift.

End of story.
Ps: I should have said something but I was scared of being forward and getting hurt in return.

valentines-day-background-with-blurred-hearts_1199-27.jpgSo that’s it people. I would love to hear your own embarrassing Valentine's day story(s) (because I’m sure I’m not in this alone), so do well to leave a comment below.

Have a memory worthy Valentine's day and do not be like I and Mr X; do not be afraid to show love today. You only live once, you know? 😙😙😙😙

Sort:  

Nice write up I must say👍👍👍

Thanks... edimay

Congratulations @harobed! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47