A Bouquet for My Beloved

in #love6 years ago (edited)

Warning: It is V-Day so please don't mind me being a bit cheesier. 😜

So it is Valentine's Day today on my side of the world and my beloved has been working very hard for these few days. His burger diner's staff is made up of part-time university or college students and mostly Chinese staff who have returned to their hometown for the upcoming Chinese New Year celebration.

We usually don't have the practice to eat together or buy any Valentine's Day gift, especially on Valentine's Day, because of the cut throat pricing everywhere. We either celebrate it earlier or later or not at all, which is okay with us.

Today, inspired by a delivery postman who sent my parcel, my zombified mind suddenly thought: Let's surprise the husband! It's a miracle that I would still want to do that in my that state of mind haha!

giphy (8).gif
GIF source: Giphy

My husband @danielwong loves fried chicken especially drumsticks. However, whenever we are eating chicken together, he would spare the drumsticks for me almost all the time, saying: Love you ma ('ma' is a local slang, with actually not much meaning, haha!) With him being so generous and thoughtful all the time, I decided to reward him with 5 fried drumsticks, three from KFC, two from our local supermarket Jusco and a big teriyaki and black pepper chicken thigh (black pepper is his favorite sauce too)! The reason why I plan to get five drumsticks is also because we are in our fifth year of marriage, coincidentally.

Off I went to the mall to get the drumsticks I needed and the cashier guy at KFC was looking at me when I kept stressing I want only fried chicken drumsticks. I could feel he wanted to laugh at me but he held back. Haha. I thought I was ready to feel embarrassed doing this. Anyway, I just went ahead, bought the food and wrapping paper and went to my husband's burger diner, ready to wrap them up in the car.

Maybe I overestimated that it would be easy-peasy, lemon-squeezy, how hard could it be? Well, it was NOT EASY AT ALL! Being in the car, a smaller confined area made it even more difficult, and the fried chicken kept falling off till I held them tight and "tied" them up with rounds and rounds of cellophane tape to secure them and finally with some ribbons to hold them tighter together. By the time I was done, I was sweating Hahaha!

This bouquet is totally about effort and zero beauty, nothing about being presentable at all, hahaha!

IMG_20180214_182154.jpg

Top view of the diy-ed drumsticks bouquet!

IMG_20180214_182118.jpg

Check out the aftermath mess I created in the car!

IMG_20180214_181111.jpg

Walking into the shop, I tried to keep the "bouquet" as low as possible. The husband was surprised and his staff teased me, of course. He was working in the kitchen. Honestly, besides it being a surprise, I hope it would serve him as a good dinner too, as sometimes he may not have time to eat and may come home exhausted, not wanting to eat too.

Tadaaaaaa! Someone with his special bouquet of chicken drumsticks!

IMG_20180214_182246.jpg

IMG_20180214_181912.jpg
Oopsie, I was a bit too nervous that my hand shook and this photo turned out blur.

How much did I spend, you may ask?

MYR24 = USD 6.13, perhaps equivalent to 1++Steem Dollar?

Found some funny quotes from here :

"Valentine's Day [is] the only national occasion dedicated to mental illness." — Charlie Brooker

"Love makes you do crazy things, insane things. Things in a million years you'd never see yourself do. But there you are doing them... can't help it." — Alex, Wicker Park

Okay, now you can laugh at me, if you want! 😁😁😁 Happy sweet Valentine's Day everyone! You are worthy of love, whether you are single or married 💝 And, I love my @danielwong!

Here's a Valentine's Day video by @zord189 too!

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif


Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

How creative of you. It is always so hard to find a gift for a guy. This was a great idea. Thanks for sharing #steemitbloggers

Haha tell me about it! It has been so difficult to find a good gift for guys nowadays @gardengirlcanada :)

SOOOOO SWEEEEEET! And the effort, oh my, diabetes already eh. So lovely, @happycrazycon! :)

Hahahaha thanks @heartscally. Sorry for the diabetes, didn't meant for that :P

hahaha... omg that's so cute lah...

KFC bouquet for Valentines lor? I always boycott Valentines because I see it as a stupid commercial invention, leh. But I can get behind food-bouquets as an expression of love lah!

(I probably totally did those "lehs", "lors" and "lahs" all wrong... :) but i tried :P)

Hahahaha @fraenk. You are so funny, cos you tried!!!! You're not bad at it, you know, it's quite okay and sounds good! :) a natural!

Haha I also don't want my loved one to spend on occasions that will be cutting throat. So I try to DIY in times like this, this it turned out not too pretty, you see 😜

maybe not too pretty... but certainly mouthwatering and yummy!

I lived in Singapore for a few years... I used to be totally down with that leh lor lah siao what not... I think I was pretty good for an ang-moh :P

Wow you were that near to Malaysia. So have you been to Malaysia? Indeed, you sure excel as a ang-moh in this local slangs!!!! Wow, you even know what's an ang-moh 😱

Yeah, I've been to and through Malaysia a bunch of times. A colleague was from Melaka and we'd go prawn fishing and smoking dope there every other weekend. I've also been to KL for some wild parties, but I always preferred the chilled out days in Melaka ;)

hehe... I actually have a nice image from those days:

(neither of these guys is me, though... obviously :P)

whoa you have been to Melaka! Thats a lovely town, isnt it? Do you miss the food there?

Melaka was always awesome, skating around the harbor and stuff... very good vibes there, but then again, I had a homie from there, so it just felt homey to me I guess.

And dang I miss the food lah. I want some satay, green papaya salad, banana cheese roti pratah, black pepper crab, proper tom yum, real honeydew mangoes... all those yummy stuffs you can't a proper version of outside SEA...

ummm... I'm hungry now!

Do come back one day @fraenk!! The food is calling you from abroad! haha! :P

Me likey your cheesiness. hehe.💕

hahah thank you la, for liking the cheesiness! paiseh paiseh

aww. too sweet liao! diabetes 🐜🐜🐜

hahaha @calebleejl sorry sorry, kill the ants! lol! :P

Awesome!! Have a great Valentine's Day.

Same to you @mineopoly on your end! :)

This is so cuteeeeeeeeee ❤❤❤

Hahaha thanks! It's adorable but ugly. All goes into tummy anyway :P

WHAT a unique gift idea!!!

I'm not the traditional woman who wants jewelry or flowers! But I can see myself giving this to my husband!

Hahahaha, yes @goldendawne. Waiting to read your post about it if you ever do that too :) I think it is practical!

Omg this is so sweet and funny at the same time! 😆😆😆

Haha glad it was to you, @irwinthinketh :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45