If you don't like to cry don't watch the Kite Runners

in #love7 years ago (edited)

IMG20180111054023.jpg

Hello Fellow Steemians I hope all is sunny at your end. At the this time Cebu is gloomy with some drizzle.

As customary, I watched a movie while having breakfast and boy I was so blown away. I won't spoil you with the details but let me jot down some of the reasons why this movie is joining my playlist.

One, it portrays humanity at its finest and it's worst.In the movie you'd see men stepping out for others at risk of their lives, of love at its best be it romantic, fraternal, paternal or to a country while at the same time it depicts the horror of #war and #discrimination .The #rape scene between an affluent boy in a servant boy is termed #bullying in the movie but to me it was too disturbing to tantamount to #sexual exploitation because he was a lower caste.

Two,it depicts a world we often don't read or watch about. In this movie, our #Muslim brothers are depicted not as" terrorist " as the #Talibans are known but as gentle people people who have culture, #values and #traditions like our own.

Watching the film I can see some similarities to my Philippine culture. in the movie, villagers children competed in the annual kite flying we Filipinos call "sarangolla ".Also one can see the family of the groom asking the soon to be bride hand which in Filipino #culture translates to our "pamanhikan "Elderly being cared for by their relatives rather than in senior homes is so Asian.

Muslim are depicted here as well as refugee- immigrants which gives the movie a larger appeal as #migration appeals to most be it for security, finances or other causes.

In this movie you'd see the sad plights of the children as they become orphans, disabled and how they end up as modern slaves. In current setting we have read of modern #slavery among those caught in the crossfire and you just can't help ask what is the world organization like United Nations doing ? Where is God or Allah or Yahweh in this situation.

Three the idea of atoning for ones shortcoming also will inspire you to not just bury it in oblivion but to take concrete actions .

Finally, I am sure in this life, amidst the hundred wrong turns there would always be someone who stood up for you and say "for you a thousand times over"as the main actor said at the end.I cried to be honest because everyone longs for genuine #friendship and love that doesn't give up amidst obstacles.

Several hours after I still find myself reflecting on the lines and asking myself if I would do the same as the characters had done.

Some of the questions that kept pondering me where
A. Would I stay mute after witnessing a crime or would I take courage to see #justice is served?

B. Would I confess everything at risk of losing someone I love

C. How do parents subconsciously #educate their kid hate or courage ?

D. How to best handle a post traumatic experience ?

E. What does #nationalism really mean?

F. What mindset does one do all indecency in the name of a supernatural being like Allah in this case ?

We have heard of spiritual leaders raping young church goers and even cajoling others to do mass suicide or do acts of #terrorism these days that you do wonder why the same religion that loves peace also makes of violent fanatics

Heart warming nuggets of wisdom were spread across the movie so I am confident that like me your find your time well spent t after the last scene.

So please do watch it if if you have a chance. May the movie inspire you to choose love at all times, to say no to war ,to manifest your religion to others in your actions, to #value loyal friends, and to take courage in this life

I am grateful that this #movie critically acclaimed at that I am able to see because it changed how is I see the world .My mindset about my current state compared to thousand others has been turned around 360degrees with this cinematography masterpiece.

Till next post,
Ayn

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gratefulayn to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80