When a Dog Loves a Tortoise

in #love6 years ago

This was my dog Bella at Christmas. She is a Lhasa Apso and on this Valentine's day, I wanted to tell you all about her latest love. You see, she loves her dad - me - like no other. She follows me around everywhere, listens to almost everything I say and enjoys her daddy snuggles. She is the best behaved dog I have ever had. Yet, her love for me is now shared by another...

This is Billy. He is a tortoise, as I am sure you guessed. A Hermann's tortoise to be precise. We had him in October and is unlike any tortoise I have ever known. Admittedly I have not known many tortoises during my lifetime, but Billy is somewhat out of the norm for what I expected a tortoise to be. During his waking hours he constantly makes laps of his vivarium. He may well be the fastest tortoise in the world. He also enjoys jumping from the top of his little house, a stunt-tortoise if you will.

20180109_182342.jpg

Naturally, Bella quickly grew fascinated by him. She accepts most other animals, she even has her own cat she loves - although his feelings for her are quite colder. If we let Billy out for a run around the room, she follows him, sniffs him as dogs are wont to do and gives him a friendly lick. I swear one day she with catch salmonella from him, she won't be told.

Occasionally we leave the glass door to his vivarium open a little to air somewhat. We started noticing that if we left the room, the opening would be bigger once we came back in. We would ask Bella about it but, as she is a dog, she would just look at us innocently. So we started to leave the room then watch from around the doorway. Sure enough, Bella was sliding the glass open with her nose.

We didn't worry, she liked to watch Billy. What harm could it do, right? Wrong. One day Ms Muxx and I went into the kitchen to prepare tea, only to return into the lounge not knowing where the dog was...until she decided it was time to get out of the vivarium. Yes, she had opened it just enough to squeeze herself into, have a nibble on Billy's lettuce and lie down with him. He didn't seem to mind as they have become best friends.

Who knew a dog could befriend a reptile.



gmuxxxx.png
Banner by @hoschitrooper


Like what I do? Vote for my witness by clicking THIS LINK. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Hello Bella... your are so cute.... I ´ve never known a Tortoise...

I am Blacky Three LegsSL377152.JPG ... It is good to know you

Awwww, this is precious! Haha, so cute <3

Nothing dogs do surprises me anymore. LOL

Aaaawwww I love animal friends stories! Are you going to get them matching outfits? :)

I could always paint his shell for Christmas...

Or St Patrick's day, that's coming up.

upvote and resteemit done dear....
keep it on....

True love, yes indeed... haha. Does this reminds you of us @williamwest? 😅

Cute dogy vs tortoris race??? Hehe update history!!😉😉😉😉😉

Did you hear that? Sound frequency is measured in Hertz (Hz). The higher the Hertz, the higher-pitched the sound. Dogs hear best at 8,000 Hz, while humans hear best at around 2,000 Hz.

Very beautiful! quite charming I fell in love with her, I am a dog lover, in fact I have a pretty naughty cocker spaniel, you have my vote, greetings from Venezuela

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61521.43
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49