OK, I admit it. I am a ROMANTIC. Reflexions over an (IN)FINITE LOVE.

in #love7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians

I am in love. But what does it mean? Do you mind if I try to make up my mind with you about the way I feel? This post does not have pictures or videos today. I hope my words won't need any visual support! Neither I aim at formulating a coherent reasoning. I do quite the opposite.

And that's because I am a Romantic, and I despise science when it tries to explain the mess I have in my head.

1824 Evening with Clouds oil on cardboard 14 x 22.5 cm.jpg

Typical of Romanticism is its denial of the concept of LIMIT. Romanticism strives for its sense of INFINITY. Overall when it comes to love. Why putting labels like 'in a relationship' or 'single' is annoying? Because we don't want to be deprived of our daily quest to achieve that status.

I love you, but I won't tell you.

If I do it, I will reach my limit.

And there is no limit to my love for you.

Today, people - men and women - do advert their limit, incredibly so.

We tend to look at our Romantic ancestors with compassionate sympathy. Maybe some of us envy them for their naivety. They all come across as puerile clueless idealists when confronted to Tinder. So much time wasted in the pursuit of the loved one. They were unaware of modern studies over pheromones, they could not have a scientific understanding of the rules of attractions.

We resent ambitious vows like ‘forever’ or 'till death do us apart' or ‘for eternity’ because they sound too bald, over the top - and because we dare not. We laugh them off because we feel threaten by them.

They are glorious oaths of love that strangely outlived a dated world.

They are a chorus of vehement hearts, an old currency in the trade of romance.

They are not worth. Nobody buys into that anymore.

We even fear to say something that stupid. It may slip off our lips when too much testosterone storms our mind.

Lovers now know that they can’t compromise their future, their independence, and they constantly check on each other, because someone else can be the ‘right one’, at any point. What if you are wrong? What if he is an asshole? What if she is cheating on you?

Tomorrow is the goal, eternity can wait.

Eternal love is not an agreement you take with your loved one. It’s not a promise, not a diamond, nothing real, nothing you can actually ever experience. You don't want it either, as you don't want to get everything you want, or it's over.

When you undress yourself of all your ethics, your laws, your believes, you remain naked with your sensations - JUST ALIVE. That's where you want to start.

Now, life wants to live and it will give you some appetite and an erection, if you are lucky. It will make you dependant. It will keep you entertained and will reward you with pleasure if you act accordingly. You will be entertained, given a job, a mission, a god, a purpose, and the idea of being in love - as long as you satisfy life’s insatiable greed.

Why love needs to be clearer, truer, more gratifying? Why do you want it to be FINITE? People of our time avoid the kind of passion that last as long as they last. Give them a break. They want certainty, and regularity, and to be told what they want, who they love.

Everything is, without a doubt, in our nature: passion and caprice. But passion is almost a myth. Our epoch of exemplar coherence would be lost if the old taste for passion prevailed again. Passion turns love into a problem, and life into a drama. Our world seems not to like problems and dramas.

I love you.

Inexplicably.

It could not be any other then you.

I will always love you.

And you, do you have limits, or are you a Romantic?

Sort:  

my love ends with the universe
unfortunately not many people want to travel that far.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @elenahornfilm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

It is the really nice post. Ia am improve this post. it really original work. so you I flow you. It is awesome artwork. this photo is really nice and beautiful. thank you.
@utpoldebnathWebp.net-gifmaker (1).gif

Hi @gorafarid , thank you very much!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80