Rough Love: My Durian Experience

in #love6 years ago

Love at first taste must've been hard on this fruit.

IMG20180405163246_edited.jpg

The Durian is referred to as "the king of fruits" in Southeast Asia.

The Durian fruit has a spiky outer shell. It almost tore my chiffon blouse when I held it by the stem.

It smells... I really don't have any comparison for it. The smell repels a good number of locals. They find it revolting and nauseating. I expect people coming from non tropical countries to react more violently.

Even some locals could not bear to eat the Durian because of its smell. Science explains that "the sensation of flavor is actually a combination of taste and smell" (livescience.com).

NOT ME.

I've eaten candied Durain many times before, and even crave for it sometimes. It must've made my sense of smell familiar with it that's why I LOVED IT THE FIRST TIME I TRIED THE FRESH FRUIT!

Its taste cannot be compared to any other fruit. The Durian tasted somewhat like strong vanilla ice cream except for its sweetness. No hints of citrus, but slightly of floral. It doesn't taste bitter nor tangy. It was... durian. Sorry for the loss of words, guys.

It was really creamy though the texture was not dripping. It didn't have strands, peels nor pulps. You don't chew it. You eat it like a soft candy, tossing it around your mouth.

IMG20180405163033_edited.jpg
Marang (light tasting relative) and Durian

Here's a tip. Don't smell the Durian before you eat it. Let your smelling sensation dull or better ignore it. Focus on the taste. It's how you appreciate the heavenly Durian.

Facts about the Durian:

Durian helps lower blood pressure.
Because of it contains high dietary fibers, it aids digestion.
It acts as an aphrodisiac and treats sexual dysfunction.
This fruit is banned in Singapore Rapid Mass Transit because of its strong stench.
It is illegal to eat Durian in public in Malaysia, and in Thailand when bringing it in any public transportation.
(organic facts.net)

IMG20180405162836_edited.jpg

Please PLEASE tell me about your Durian experience! I'd love to read your comments below!

Follow me 'cuz I'll be writing about Marang (as seen in the second photo).

Sort:  

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78